Grace and Laughter

I have found that being a mom is the hardest job I have ever done. Hands down. It has this incredible ability to make you smile and laugh uncontrollably, or cry hysterically. Since I have been doing mostly the latter today {been a very rough day}, I decided before I went to bed I needed to focus on the former.

So here’s my winning story of the day:

This morning both kids left me alone long enough to take a nice long shower and {here’s the clincher} WASH MY HAIR. As soon as I stepped out of the shower, the phone rang, so I quickly grabbed my robe, twisted my hair up in a towel, and answered the phone.

As I chatted on the phone to Heidi, one of my closest friends, Jacob asked to go out in the backyard. He played outside for a few mins, and then came running frantically back inside with a doormat- the one that used to be on the front door step but graduated to the back when we got a new one this week. Well, that seriously stressed Jake out. He ran to the front door, swung it opened {WHY in the world was it unlocked??}, and tried to put the old mat over the new one. Of course I explained that’s not how it worked, so he ran into the front yard yelling for Brandon {who was at work}, apparently thinking this would solve the problem. When he couldn’t find Brandon he ran into the street. My son was wearing the following:

1) Diaper
2) PJ tee shirt
3) Bright green crocs
4) Bike helmet with ducks on it

I was wearing…well I already told you.

Soo… I start yelling from the front door for Jacob to come back into the house. Jake is standing in the middle of the street yelling for Brandon, not listening of course. A car starts coming down the street, I keep yelling, to no avail. Finally, realizing Jake was not going to listen, I sprint out into the street {in my lovely robe and hair in towel}, to pick up the screaming 2 year old who doesn’t want to listen, and drag him into the house.

The funny thing is just before this all happened, Heidi and I were talking about grace. How God gives us so much of it when we are moms. How our prayer lives are so interrupted and nothing ever goes as planned. How being a mom is so very tough and that God sees our children as our ministry, so we must never give up. Grace is so powerful.

So if you saw me out in the street wearing my snazzy ensemble yanking a screaming boy back into the house, I’m sorry. I hope you can find it in your heart to show me a little grace.

And if you are mom who is having a bad day, I hope you can read this story and laugh.

Really laugh.

Heidi and me at a youth convention with our two crazy little ones almost 2 years ago:


Whew…thanks for listening! This blogging is SO therapeutic! xoxo

7 thoughts on “Grace and Laughter

  1. Haha….kids. How did we live before them? I mean, did we really live? With the temper tantrums, the tears, the owwies, the kisses, the laughter, the the love…what filled our lives before? My life is crazy and there are many days I dream of the "good old days" before kids…but my life would be soo much more boring without them. Those special moments, so fleeting, somehow make up for all the other moments that life with kids brings. It's a hard life…but a good one πŸ™‚ Keep on keeping on Amy!

  2. yay! Cheyenne, so good to see you here! Are you going to start a blog?Nicole, I know aren't they crazy? They really do make life so interesting. We often wonder what did for entertainment before Jake came along! πŸ™‚

  3. Hilarious! You have truly put a smile on my face. This is the exact type of thing that I go through daily too. I am lucky now that my oldest is 7 she is a big help with her little sisters; and I ALMOST always get to wash my hair when I shower now:) So, yes these times require alot of grace, but just know that the days are coming quickly where you will be able to breath a quick sigh of relief. Now if only they were all 7! hehe (actually I love having a baby in the house…but it is SO MUCH WORK!) I will continue to lift you and your family up in prayer. And I know that there are days of complete gratification in your near future.much love.

Leave a Reply

