Halloween 2009 and Dinner in a Pumpkin

Sorry, this is going to be a long one! There were so many cute pictures of my kiddos, I had the hardest time weeding them out. SOOOO….Here are a few pictures of our Halloween Day. :)…

This year, Jake wanted to be a Knight, so getting his costume together was a BIG BIG deal. We found an Armor of God costume at the Christian Book Store and then Grandma made the tunic {In like 1 hr, so amazing!}.

Eveyln wore cousin Maddie’s costume from last year, which was a flower. The Evelyn rose is my favorite rose ever, so we called Evy “The Evelyn Rose”. Here are a few pictures of Evy’s first Halloween, and Jake’s fabulous costume.

Here he is getting dressed. One happy and excited boy…

And here he is doing his best knight impersonation…fighting on the left and riding his horse on the right.

And here’s Evy dressed up and waiting to go, watching all the action. Oh I just love her, my little miss smilely.

The knight and his princesses. Ava and Alayna Yandris on the left, and his cousin, Madison on the right. Typical boy, so not interested! Notice the very cool candy pouch that Grandma made to go with his costume.

Here we are at the family festival {on left}. Tried very, very hard to get a cousin picture, but no luck. We did a little better after the festival when we came home for pumpkin pie.

Brother and sister. The winning picture of the night. I adore these two, they make my life so happy.

Now on to “Dinner in a Pumpkin”, my mom’s special Halloween treat…..

The pictures below are of Saturday morning, cutting open our pumpkin for our dinner. Kids totally engrossed in the first picture, somewhat interested in the second, not really sure what’s going on and completely disgusted in the third. Couldn’t even get Jake to help clean it out, ha! Oh well.

Here’s the finish product. I realize it doesn’t look that great, but it actually tastes delicious and it is so much  fun to make! Grandpa {in his work clothes} loves it! The pumpkin cooks through, so when you serve it, you scoop big chunks of the pumpkin off the sides to mix in with the filling. Pair it with crusty garlic french bread- sooo yummy and such great memories!

Dinner in a Pumpkin

1 lb ground beef
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 onion, chopped
1 C. uncooked rice
4 Tb butter
1 tea. salt {add more to taste}
1/2 tea. pepper {add more to taste}
1/4 tea. crushed thyme
1 can of tomatoes, with liquid {I prefer chopped}
2 small cans of beef broth
1/2 C- 1 C. grated cheddar cheese

1 pumpkin, seeded and cleaned. {My pumpkin measured 12″ from top to bottom, not including stem}

Preheat oven to 350. Cook onions and garlic in butter on med heat until translucent. Add beef, cook until brown. Add rice and remaining ingredients, except cheese. Cook mixture over med – med/high heat until rice is done. Season with extra salt and pepper if needed. Pour mixture into cleaned pumpkin. Use tin foil for top {you will not cook the pumpkin top}. Cook for 1 1/2 hrs. Sprinkle cheese on top of mixture last 10 mins of cooking. Pumpkin should be soft, fork should prick easily through meat of pumpkin when tested.

I hope you enjoy this recipe and are able to use it with your own families! I have many memories of this dish as a child, I will never forget the first time my mom made it, I was dressed as a cheerleader! πŸ™‚

Hope you had a safe and blessed weekend! xoxo

6 thoughts on “Halloween 2009 and Dinner in a Pumpkin

  1. What a handsome knight and cute flower!:)Dinner in a pumpkin sounds so yummy! I'm going to have to try it! πŸ˜› yummm, my husbands probably going to think that i'm crazy when I tell him whats for dinner! ha ha!

  2. Well I may have to expand my very limited cooking skills & try this recipe. It will make me look sooooo talented! Thanks Amy you always make me look good πŸ™‚ SoShawna Gray

  3. Jenni, OMW you are awesome!! Thank you! I am so excited!!I love your new profile pic!Prencie and SoShawna, you guys have to try it. It's really fun, I promise. The kids will love it and your families will be extremely impressed hehe! πŸ™‚

  4. The kids look absolutely adorable…love the costumes! I am bummed we did not get a picture of Jake, Evy and Jude together :(Love you

Leave a Reply

