Why Blog?

Who is this???



It’s me…taken one month before I got married. It was crazy hair day at the elementary school where I taught 4th grade. Yes, I have wire hangers in my hair, no it didn’t hurt, and yes I have very long hair. 🙂


I love this picture. It was Amy at her prime, having fun, enjoying the kids I taught and living life to its fullest. I smile every time I see it. Not that I am having a horrible in time in life now. It’s just changed some – I’ve been redefined.


I’m a mom.

I have mentioned before that my husband, Brandon, is a youth pastor. He took that position six months after we had been married. I then became a youth pastor’s wife. We LOVE young people. We hope to be youth pastors forever, if God wills. We are so fulfilled when working with teens- we feel at our best when surrounded in a youth service with several hundred students – encouraging them, worshipping God with them, and simply enjoying their company. Nothing is better in our opinions.


But lately, something has been frustrating me. You see, I’ve got these two precious kiddos, and they seem to have a mind of their own. Which means, I rarely get to attend an entire youth or Sunday morning services anymore, thanks to their loud shenanigans which put me in the hallway most of the service. I miss youth staff meetings on Sundays thanks to the ever important nap time. And I have to cancel my small group more than I would like thanks to random colds and sniffles that seem to infiltrate our home on a monthly basis. I find myself very annoyed by all of this. Even though I KNOW my kids are my ministry right now, I often feel useless, un-productive and more than anything – I feel out of touch.


In steps my blog.


I have always loved to write. I probably have way too much to say, but for some reason writing about my life, my struggles, my excitements…it brings me so much joy. I feel peaceful. I’ve mentioned it before, but it’s really therapeutic. In my blog I’m honest, brutally so. What you see is what you get with me. I’m not afraid to show you my hurts and fears, and even my spiritual battles. Yes, I’m a pastor’s wife, but no, I am not perfect. I am far from it. And I will be the first person to be honest about that.


But this weekend, I have been examining myself, my lifestyle and my hobbies. I want to be a godly woman. I want to be that Proverbs 31 and Titus 2:3-5 woman. In other words…I want to be a pastor’s wife that honors her husband and doesn’t say things {in the real world or the virtual world} that embarrass him or our family.


Sooo…..


Over the past couple of days I have spent quite a bit of time in prayer over this subject, wondering if I should continue with my blog as is, continue with less content or information about my family, or set my blog to private so only a select few people can read it.


But as I prayed, I thought of something. I have received about a half a dozen emails/phone calls from other moms who have thanked me for my honesty and have told me that they are “addicted” to my blog {they all used the same word, which is funny}. I realized then that God has placed this medium in my lap for a reason. At this point in my life, I may not be able to do as much as I would like with our young people, but I could write about my experiences with my children, who are my current ministry. I could be honest and share my struggles. I could maybe, through those struggles, help someone else. In a small way, this blog could be part of my ministry right now. I LOVE that!


So I have come to conclusions that, although I may in the future set my blog to private {where invited members only can read}, I will continue to write. I know that it is thought that minister’s wives should be quiet and inward, more private- but that’s not me, never has been. I am {at least I believe I am! :)} a godly woman, but I am honest about my life, and I hope if you can show me a little grace if you feel I should do otherwise.


As I stated here, my original intent for this blog was to keep a record of history for my kids. And it will still be that. But now, thanks to this epiphany I had the last couple of days, I will not be afraid to be honest about my life and struggles in hopes of helping someone else.

I am very interested in your thoughts on this…


And in closing, I will NOT apologize for the length haha. My friend SoShawna says I need to stop doing that. So I will. And she needs to update her blog, by the way. 🙂


xoxo

17 thoughts on “Why Blog?

  1. I have struggled with making my blog private…or not as well?! But I have so many family memebers out there that read it that I probably don't know about. Yes, are there crazies out there too?! Of course, they are everywhere, but I feel like it is a great way to let the world know how we are doing! So with that said, I say BLOG IT OUT GIRL! Friendships develop in the strangest ways, here's to ours, via the blogging world!!!!PS-love that picture of you and your long hair!

  2. I LOVE your blog! It encourages me to know that there are minister's wives that aren't quiet and inward. Makes me not feel like I'm not the only one who isn't cookie cutter. 🙂 I concur with Jenni "Blog it out girl!" 🙂 We love THE ADVENTURES OF THE MIRAFLOR FAMILY!!

  3. Amy- keep blogging! I haven't read anything yet that is even close to questionable, so stop your worrying. :)You are a REAL person; embrace it.Sarah Vig

  4. Keep writing…I think people like to see that those in the ministry are "real" and face the same things they do. I love your writing and I LOVE this picture of you. TOOOOO cute! ❤

  5. Amy, I need you to keep this up….I love your blog and when you write about the dealings with your kids on an everyday basis, it helps me to know that I'm not alone on the feelings that I have with my two! I love you for who you are and for the way you are, so don't be changing on me…I don't think Pastor's wives need to be quiet and inward….How BORING!!! haha XOXO

  6. Ames,Don't stop blogging… I am inspired reading your blog. It keeps me realizing that even when I feel like my kids are the only ones that do crazy things, and I am the only mom to feel like I can never quite get a handle on things… I'm not alone. I appreciate your honesty and love your blogs.HugsJanelle

  7. Keep it up girl! Your blog is an inspiration to a lot of people. I love reading it because you ARE so real and honest. I appreciate that. This is real life. This is how things are! It’s an adventure!!…. I also agree with Mandy. It’s nice to know you’re not the only non-cookie cutter woman out there :o)

  8. Amy your blogs are great… most people want real.. It is frustrating when you meet someone in ministry (or really ANYONE) and they put on a front like EVERYTHING is perfect.. We are all human…. we do not read the Bible everyday, we yell and scream, we mess up, we cry, we fight, bottom line we are human. Your realness brings freedom and a level of comfort too many; including me:) Keep being yourself:)

  9. Thanks so much you guys for the encouragement. It really does mean a lot. I am so glad you all enjoy my stories of our crazy life, and so glad to know that I am not the only one leading one! ha… Thank you for confirming that I am not alone! :)I love and appreciate you all. YOu are good friends {even my new friend Jenni R, who is awesome, girls!! :)} and I feel blessed to have you in my life. xoxo

  10. Amy – I have been so behind with your blog, I was without internet service for over a week – PLEASE don't stop blogging – and if you find it necessary to set it to private, PLEASE invite me to view it!I love and appreciate you SO much! I respect and admire you – you're an awesome, Godly woman – and I'm proud to know you!Love you,Susan

  11. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome blog!

Leave a Reply

