My Best Friend…

Lately I have been pondering the following two statements:

1.  I have the best husband ever.

2. My husband is a pro at the most important action ever: FAITH

When I married Brandon, I knew we wouldn’t have a lot of money {since he is in the ministry}, but I knew that he would work very hard to take care of us, and that God would provide all we needed. Throughout our marriage, I have held onto Matthew 6: 25 -34, my favorite passage of scripture:

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

The last couple of days, I have been blown away by how God takes care of us. Several prayers have been answered, needs have been met, and unexpected events have brought me pure joy. I know that this is all God, working on my behalf.

But, I have to give credit where credit is due.

Brandon has held onto faith even in the darkest hours. He really, truly, believes that God will not fail us. And I believe that, due to his faith, God never has.

I am so thankful for a husband who fights all our battles with sword of faith. It means so much to me. He sets such an incredible example to our family. To coin a phrase made famous by Kirk Franklin- one that exemplifies Brandon’s outlook on life:

“I’d rather have Jesus than silver or gold.”

Thank you, Lord, for blessing me with my husband. He fulfills me in everyway. He is my best friend.

I love you, Babe! xoxo

The following pictures were taken by our good friend Sam Hassas. Sam was photographing Brandon, and a few other men, for our friend Ryan’s custom clothing line, R.Douglas– If you are in need of a good suit, you should check him out. Both Ryan and Sam are extremely talented individuals who we are blessed to call friends.

The guy in the middle is Ryan of R. Douglas

5 thoughts on “My Best Friend…

  1. Great post, Amy! And yes, Brandon is such an awesome guy. I am very greatful for his friendship. Thanks for the comments on R. Douglas. There couldn't be a better R. Douglas model than Mr. Miraflor!! He is the face of this clothing line. =) See you guys soon!

  2. HILARIOUS photos! I noticed his wedding ring tan line 🙂 A benefit of marrying a brown boy like Brandon or Elton…ha…they can't just take off their ring and pretend to be single.

  3. Amy,You touched my heart this morning with this post. I'd rather have Jesus than silver or gold too. You're a gift. Many Blessings dear lady.Linda

Leave a Reply

