Do you Crock Pot?

One of my blog friends, Ann over at Auntie Ann’s, did a post on her crock pot and asked all her readers for their favorite crock pot recipe. She got some fabulous recipes!

Well, that got me thinking…

I have the best pot roast recipe EVER. Ok, I’m sure its not the best ever, but my family loves it, so that makes it the best to us, I guess. Ha! I made it up right around the time Brandon and I got married, and I have not stopped making it since. It is a simple recipe and very forgiving{I have left ingredients out and it STILL tastes good}, yet it is fancy enough to serve on a holiday or to a guest of honor.

Pot Roast

1-2lbs meat {we prefer tri tip, but chuck roast works fine too}
1 yellow onion quartered
1 pkg Lipton Onion Soup Mix
1 1/2 C. Red Wine {I buy the cheapest, it really doesn’t make much of a difference}
1 1/2 C. Chicken or Beef Broth {Either one will work, I usually use Chicken since its what I always have}
1 C. water

Rub meat down with salt and pepper, or use a seasoning like Blue Star Seasoning . Place meat in pot, cover with onion soup mix, add onions and then liquid. Cook on slow for 10hrs. I have done 8 hours, but it is so much more tender when cooked longer. I serve with mashed potatoes and steamed carrots and add some chopped parsley on top.

Now here’s the sad part. This is the only thing I really use my crock pot for!! I have tried other recipes, but none that I really like….

So I am curious, what is your favorite crock pot recipe?

In closing, here is what you get when you give a very antsy almost 3 year old a thrift store synthesizer. Its a life saver, really. ‘Course you’ll probably go nuts from all the noise, but at least he’ll sit in one place for 30 mins

Singing our fave song from the Aristocats and picking his nose at the end of course…


3 thoughts on “Do you Crock Pot?

  1. Hey Amy, my Crock pot is my very best friend in this whole wide world. Lol just ask Jeremy.One of my very favorite recipes and by far the easiest is my Creamy Chicken. Honestly I don't know the name of it but just threw it together and comfort food all the way.I just throw some Chicken breast in the crock pot and season it with whatever kind of seasoning I have. Then add 1 can of cream of Mushroom and 1 can of cream of Chicken. Let it set of 4 hours and put it over rice. A family favorite in my house. I have a ton of stuff but I will not fill up your page. However check out this site I just found it. http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2007/12/alphabetical-listing-of-recipes.html Some great recipes and I've just started making mason some baby food with the crock pot. So she has great ideas.

  2. I make the same exact recipe as Regina =) Its very yummy!!Here's another I make….its like a mexican style chicken & is perfect to put together before you walk out the door for church & is ready by the time you get home…so in like 4 hours on low.1pkg Chicken Thighs with bone, pull off skin (You can use whatever kind of chicken you have though)2cans Mexican style stewed tomatoesSeason to taste:Garlic SaltOnion PowderLemon PepperCuminI serve with a nice salad on the side & Mexican rice or steamed white or brown rice & another veggie on the side. Very easy!

  3. A very simple and yummy thing in the crock pot is to buy a jar of salsa (any kind will do) and throw that ontop of chicken (I use frozen chicken breasts) and put it on low for 8-10 hours. You get home from work and you've got yummy taco meat. Or you can also use it with pot roast, shred the meat and it's great too

Leave a Reply

