Highs and Lows

I have come to realize that parenting has it’s highs and lows.

Yes I have.

For example, I don’t think I have mentioned that my brother in law, Bryson is getting married today. Yes, tonight at 7. So last night we had the rehearsal and the rehearsal dinner afterwards.

This is a little of what my “high and low” day looked like:

3:00 AM- went to bed…a  big LOW- Yeah, I worked all day long Thursday making a special gift for my new nephew Lincoln who will arrive in March. I will post about that gift very soon. Anyway, I finished at midnight Thursday and then started cleaning my very neglected house until 3. Only got the Living Room cleaned, but I guess that is was a start, guess I will count that a HIGH.

7:00 AM- Brandon’s alarm goes off. He is working on a fence job on his day off, which means I will have no help finishing up the housecleaning-another big LOW, but we made a bunch money off the job, which means we can pay our property taxes next month, BIG BIG BIG HIGH. Thank you Jesus!

8:00 AM- I’m cleaning. Thanks to my little munchkins, I only finish cleaning their rooms and the guest room{which I guess is a HIGH?}. I still have the most daunting task left, the kitchen and the family room {which is piled high with about 20 loads of laundry}- LOW.

1:00 PM- Bryony, David and Scout arrive. I don’t think I mentioned they were coming? Well, they are here! BIG HIGH! πŸ™‚ Big LOW, however, that they can’t find a place to sit in the family room due to the laundry and can’t wash their hands in the kitchen sink due to the dishes… *SIGH*

3:00 PM- kids down for a nap…HIGH!!!  I finish picking up the kitchen…HIGH!! Brandon gets home and is S.T.A.R.V.I.N.G…..for some reason he has forgotten to eat ALL DAY LONG!?! How in the world does one forget to eat? Must be how he keeps his figure. Anway, big LOW that I have to stop folding laundry and make him something {he can’t even make a PB&J- no joke}.

4:30 PM- Put together a pasta dish with the 5 ingredients I have in the fridge and pantry. I have not been able to make it to the store in 3 days, we have no food- LOW. My pasta dish, however, was devoured by everyone and labeled “the best pasta ever”… big HIGH! πŸ™‚

5:00 PM- start getting kids and myself ready for the rehearsal, which is in Sacramento. I change myself and Evy 3 times- LOW. I dress Jake in his skinny tan cords, baby blue polo, forest green Crewcuts sweater and his Chuck Taylors…he looks like a stud, he makes me smile- HIGH.

6:00 PM- Throw everyone in the car-literally, and drive like a maniac to Sacramento, we are a little late {no surprise there} – LOW

7:00 PM- I leave the kids with Brandon and I go to the mall for some R&R.- HIGH. Brandon keeps calling me during the walk around the mall telling me to hurry; LOW.

7:45 PM- Pick up family and head to Bucca Di Beppo for a FABULOUS dinner hosted by my in laws. They seriously out did themselves. So yummy. BIG BIG HIGH.

8:15 PM- Food has not even arrived yet, and Jake is hopping from chair to chair. We sit him next to the 3 Meeks boys {as in Harry and Melissa Meeks} thinking that will help keep him occupied. Big mistake. I look over about 10 minutes later and find the 3 Meeks boys sitting calmly playing with their toys and EATING THEIR SALAD {kids eat salad?!? wow} while my son is in his chair jumping up and down like a Mexican Jumping Bean and screaming “Taaa daaa!”.

I make a mental note to order more discipline books from Dr. Dobson. Big LOW.

9:15 PM- dessert arrives {ice cream cones and cheesecake} it was too die for. HIGH. Jake gets one cone {even though he never ate dinner} and keeps asking for more. We tell him no. Ten minutes later I turn around and notice he has one. He went to every table and asked for one until someone had mercy on him. LOW. Double LOW when I find out it was his THIRD one.

9:45 PM- Pile everyone into car. Drive home. Brandon is exhausted can barely keep his eyes open, thanks to the $$ fence he built today. I realize we have no milk, so must stop at store.Get to store, walk around trying to remember my forgotten list {of course} and come back to car to find that Brandon had climbed into passenger seat and was dead asleep, along with Evy. Jake however, thanks to the 3 ice cream cones, was wide awake and singing Hillsong United at the top of his lungs. UGH…this whole comment is a LOW.

11:30 PM- Arrive home, we put kids in bed. Brandon goes to sleep, I clean up kitchen.

12:30 AM- Bed HIGH, HIGH, HIGH.

2:00 AM- Bryony, who is pregnant tries to open the window in their room because I forgot to turn down the heater, there are three people sleeping in the guest room and its like a furnace in there and did I mention she is pregnant? Bless her heart. The house alarm goes off when the window opens. My husband sleep runs to turn it off, Bryony feels horrible, and I feel like DIRT. Why didn’t I think to turn the heat down?!? LOW

4:30 AM- Evy cries. Normally I would let her cry it out, but with guests, I feed her. LOW

5:30 AM- Jake comes into our room. He had peed through the diaper. I change him. He sleeps with us. LOW

6:30 AM- Evy cries again, I feed again. LOW

7:30 AM- Jake wakes up. We make him play quietly in our room. LOW

8:00 AM- Evy wakes up. I’m so tired, I just let her whine. LOW.

8:30 AM- Get Evy. I’m near tears over the fact that I was up almost every hour. Brandon slept through everything, and probably would have slept through the house alarm if I hadn’t pushed him out of bed. I don’t think it even phased him. LOW

But then this morning, while I was laying there in bed, soo soo tired, and praying to God that I could have a few more minutes of sleep, my little, precious boy rolls over, pushes his face into mine and says, “I love you, Mommy.”

That makes all the emotional highs and lows worth it.

And then I go and pick my little girl up from her crib and she smiles a big toothless smile. Even though I had just made her wait for me for 30 minutes.

Again- makes it all worth it.

So God, I guess I will take all the highs and lows if it means watching these precious babies grow. They are so wonderful, even through the lows. They are our treasures. It’s worth it, God. Grant me wisdom to raise them, give me strength to keep going, and keep the highs and lows coming.

I love you, Lord; you are my strength.” Psalm 18:1

And since I can’t ever seem to write a post without a picture, I thought I would go down memory lane for a minute and share my favorite picture of Brandon and I before kids, during our first year of marriage. It was taken in Ventura while we were visiting Bryony and David during their couple year stay there. It was taken by David, of course.

Even though we look so skinny, in love and RESTED..ha!…I would still never trade my kids. Well, ok, maybe I would for a day of rest, but I would definitely want them back. πŸ™‚

And no, I won’t apologize, SoShawna…I promise!! hehe πŸ™‚ xoxo

5 thoughts on “Highs and Lows

  1. Hilarious and scary at the same time! What have I got myself into? LOL My only negative comment is to Brandon "Learn how to make a frickin PB&J!" Seriously, Amy, then next time we come out there we are leaving kids with Josh and Brandon and heading to a day spa! Did you know they have mommy spas where you can pay extra to take a nap after your massage? You need a few of these days spread out through the year. πŸ™‚ Love your posts! Love you!

  2. Amy, what a day! I believe all Moms have some version of that day in their memory. I did want to say Jake singing Hillsong United is definitely a HIGH. πŸ™‚ I told Timothy recently that we need to start supporting KLOVE. It melts my heart when I'm driving in the car and Hudson starts singing praise songs along with the radio. You are a great Mom, keep up the good work! xoxo

  3. @ Misty, haha, yeah, sorry…welcome to mommyhood. It's definitely a whole different ballgame, that's for sure. But I know you will do fantastic! And I'll pray God blesses you with a CALM child. And I am SOOOO down for the day spa AND the nap haha. @Audrey, Isn't so thrilling to hear your child sing along with worship music? I always feel so bad that we don't play veggie tales or something like it more, but he LOVES all the contemporary stuff. And you're right, I should have counted that one as a HIGH. :)@ David- FINALLY! Very well said.. πŸ™‚ love you guys. xoxo

  4. I think I have had more than my fair share of these days! That is what happens when we reach mommyhood! We take the good, the bad, and the ugly, and it seems like all they have to do is bat their little eyes at us (husbands and kids) and then it makes up for everything else, leaving us speechless with them and this feeling inside that everything is going to be alright.

Leave a Reply

