Black Friday Mania

Well, I have no idea where I have been the last 33 years {yes, I’m 33}, BUT…

I guess I didn’t know what “Black Friday” was really all about.

For example, I had no idea that people REALLY camped out in front of places like Toys R Us, Target, and Walmart. I mean, I have heard about such stuff, but I really didn’t think SANE people did this, just the crazies who were DESPERATE.

But was I sure wrong.

I was shocked beyond measure when my dear sister-in-law Brittony informed me that she and her boyfriend, Shawn, were going to wait outside of Walmart all night long in order to buy a video monitor. And then my good friend Alisha excitedly told me that she and her husband were getting up at 4:30 am to be at Target by 5 am.- just for fun, she loves the excitment. These are sane people. Wow. {Oh yes, must mention that Alisha managed to get me the portable DVD player that we have been wanting…thanks Alisha!! xoxo}

And then there was me.

I did get up early…very early for me. 6:30 AM to be exact. That’s a good 1/2 hr – hour earlier than I usually do, and let me tell you, it was tough. My alarm hasn’t seen that early hour in a long time.

But I was up to do some shopping of my own…ONLINE. My very favorite baby shoe seller, Mia Joie, was having a sale at 7AM, and this is what I got {picture courtesy of Mia Joie}

These are the best shoes ever- they go with everything, and I was soooo happy to snag a pair in Evy’s size, as she has outgrown her others.

But there is more.

If you read my Thanksgiving post you heard that my old washing machine kicked the bucket. So after my online shopping spree, we very begrudgingly went to Lowes to purchase a new one. I say begrudgingly because when you aren’t expecting it, and you are saving your money for your car’s air conditioning to be fixed, the last thing you want is to buy a new washer… but buy we did- at 1/2 off!! Here’s our new washer {Don’t look too closely at the baseboards, you will see the water damage from our old one…ugh}:

I love it!!

And since Brandon and I could not stomach the idea of going to Target at 5am, we thought we would go at 11:30, just see what all the hype was about and to get some last minute items for our trip to Florida on Monday {we’re going on vacation!! whooo hooo!!}.

It was STILL chaos at 11:30, THANK GOD we didn’t go earlier… I would have DIED.

Anyway, we managed to get a couple new DVD’s on sale for Jake. Here he is completely mesmerized by Kung Fu Panda. Seriously, I don’t think Jake has sat this still for …. well, for maybe NEVER. If you know Jake this is a big deal… He loved it!

And one more exciting thing… Evy is getting ready to crawl! Hasn’t gone anywhere yet, but is getting up on all fours! Oh I love her…

So that’s my first Black Friday “experience”. I’m curious, did you join in on the Black Friday Mania?

And oh yes, are there any Florida people out there who could tell me what the weather is like?

xoxo

8 thoughts on “Black Friday Mania

  1. I know alot of 'sane' people who take a nap after Thanksgiving dinner, then go pull all-nighters at stores. It IS crazy but you can certainly get crazy deals, too! It's best to save up $$ and have an idea of what you want. We went to the mall at 2pm and still got some pretty good bargains (see my FB status). I'm hoping we can still find good deals between now & Christmas; surely those economically-challenged stores are willing to compete for my $$? Nice Mia Joie shoes, btw!

  2. ok, you know what's even more insane? Alisha went to Target at 5 and the line was out the door to Lowes. She said it moved very quickly to get in, and then she just walked right in after them, like 5 mins after the store opened.BUT those people had been waiting for THREE HOURS- but Alisha still got all the good deals. CRAZYBrandon says he wants to camp out, just once. Set up his tent and everything. I can see it now. haha.xxoxo love you.

  3. We went too! I actually started shopping Thanksgiving night…wet to Michaels for a few things and then headed to ToysRUs, QUICKLY changed my mind on that one…because we showed up to close to 12am and the line was insane…so we slept in the car until 3am instead of heading back home a 1/2 hour away 🙂 We then hit pennys, and target. Its our tradition for just Israel and I to go…it saves us SO much money in the long run. Congrats on your washing machine Amy..we have the same ones. Incredible sale they had on those…I thought of you when I saw the ad. :)Hope to see you out there shopping again next year…haha.

  4. Danielle, you lost me at sleeping in the car!! haha! WOW…I'm super impressed. You know Brandon and I did say that we should have saved our money for Black Friday and bought Christmas gifts…. maybe next year. Maybe we can make it a team effort, and then you guys can sleep at our house! :)And you started a blog!! Awesome! I'm a follower… 🙂 xoxo

  5. I went as far as thinking about shopping…I couldn't bring myself to do it – think I needed a partner in crime and chickened out. Sormething about battling those people al by myself?Anywho, glad you were able to cash in some of the good deals out there!Enjoy your vacation to Florida!

  6. Black friday is an actual holiday with my family! We stay up ALL night and are usually in line by 2 or 3 am. It is an epic event for us that I hope we never miss:) I am addicted to the chaos of it all. We usually have 10 to 15 people that go out every year and we always have a blast. Yes we are crazy, but it gets addicting:) hehe Glad that you were able to snag a pair of beautiful MJ couture for your sweet baby girl…I am anxiously awaiting the boots!!!hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

