Wollmer Family Vacation 2009

So where have I been the last week? Well….

Five years ago, this past Novemeber, Brandon and I spent 10 wonderful honeymoon days in Walt Disney World, in Florida. How we ended up spending our honeymoon there is a long story, but we swear it was the best thing we could have ever done… SO MUCH FUN!!! 

Here we are on the Disney Boardwalk, five years ago:

For the last couple years, my parents have taken all of us Wollmer kids, and our families, on a vacation sometime in December as our Christmas gift. This year, to everyone’s excitement, they flew us all to Florida and treated us to a week at the Disney World Resorts. It was awesome- all decorated for Christmas!

Brandon and I five years later {2009} at Epcot’s Canda Exhibit:

Not too bad for five years and two kids later, huh? 🙂 {And yes, I am still addicted to pashminas and scarves…}

This was also Jake’s first plane ride, EVER {Evy flew with us to Nashville in July}. We were a little nervous how he would do on two flights that equaled 6-7 hours total. Despite a couple breakdowns, he did pretty well.

Here he is on take-off from Sacramento airport, on our way to FL, with all 14 family members cheering him on…

Once we arrived, the Disney bus picked us up and took us to the Yacht Club Resort, the same place we stayed on our honeymoon. INCREDIBLE hotel, can’t say enough about it.

The back enterance of the hotel:

The lighthouse and pier. This is where you catch boats to Epcot, Hollywood Studios {formerly the MGM Studios}, and the Boardwalk.

The view from our room. To the right is Disney’s Boardwalk Hotel and to the left is the Boardwalk which is complete with candy shops and boardwalk fair type booths.

Well, I took over 300 pictures!! And that was nothing compared to my sister {who has an awesome camera}- she took over 700! So I will try not to bore you with too many of them…

but here’s a *few* … 🙂

We left our house at 4 AM on Monday morning. This was Jake. He stayed asleep while we dressed him and laid just like this until we had to carry him out the door. He did wake up though for the plane ride which he was so excited about!

My niece Brookie, Brandon and Jake at the dinosaur play area at Animal Kingdom. Jake loved learning about dinosaurs! {And that leash lasted all of a couple hours, BTW}
My nieces Emma, Brooke and Brittany with Jake on the boat that takes us to the Boardwalk.
My brother Brad, who came all the way from London to be with us, and Jake out on the Boardwalk.
Jake picking out his Mickey ears in the Magic Kingdom park.
Ok, these gloves were the first thing he saw after he picked out his ears. He threw a complete fit when we passed the kiosk and WOULD NOT give it up. We finally told him if we bought those gloves that they would be the only thing he got. He stopped crying and agreed. Gramps went and bought them for him.
Well let me tell you, these gloves were GLUED to Jake’s hands, literally. He didn’t take them off for the entire trip and they are black with dirt. He didn’t even ask for anything else. He LOVES those gloves.
Good buy, I guess!

Jake meeting Buzz Lightyear, with the gloves, of course.
Brandon and Jake taking their picture by the sword in the stone…again, with gloves.
Meeting Mickey and Minnie….
with gloves.
And gloves again, on the Monorail going back to the hotel.

Eating an Italian lunch in Italy at Epcot and seeing that he can’t eat with them, minus gloves. The food was so yummy!!
In China, these child Chinese acrobats were INCREDIBLE. This girl was tossing this ceramic vase around with her feet…
And if the vase wasn’t enough…she went for the table.
Eating in China with my sister, Pammy and her husband, Dave.
Jake and my nephew, Brandon, getting on the ride Test Track.
Doing an excited jig about meeting Pluto…
And the gloves reappear to meet Donald… {note the black hands}
Meeting Goofy…
Jake was so excited to see that Goofy had the same gloves as him.
Finding Nemo…and the gloves.
Daddy, Jake {and the gloves} in Bruce’s mouth. Jake’s a bit terrified.

Me and my precious boy with “the other shark”…can’t remember his name??
Oh yes, and gloves…
My boys in the rain. It POURED and POURED. No joke. We about died. So not prepared for that.
But the gloves made it through the storm…thank God.
My neice, Brooke, feeding Evy breakfast. Oh my beautiful girl, she was sooo very easy, hardly ever cried and hung in there the entire trip. She lounged in her stroller and smiled at everyone. Such a sweatheart. I love her!
And she looks like such a Wollmer in this picture… I can’t get over her Wollmer coloring!
Oh yes, I can’t say enough about how helpful my nieces were with Evy. This picture is an excellent example of how on top of it these girls are with their baby cousin. Thank you, girls!
Epcot has a wonderful exploratorium type area for kids. This fire engine was the # 1 hit for Jake. We could not tear him away.
Me showing Jake what number the fire engine was…
On December 5, my brother’s son, Andrew, turned 14. Wow, 14!! Where has time gone?
Anyway, we ate in France that night…here are the waiters singing in French to Andrew….
and Andrew being a typical teen and taking a picture of it! 🙂
Brandon caught this picture of French exhibit at Epcot. So beautiful.
The kiddie pool at our hotel. There is real sand at the bottom. Jake LOVED it…his cousins took him and played with him that little area. He is so spoiled.
You know…
this trip was so fun. However, I have to say, dragging a 2, almost 3, year old {who is right smack in the midst of his terrible 2’s I might add} on a trip to a different time zone with GOBS of stimulus is ….
NOT A GOOD IDEA!
We had so many tantrums we lost count. Honestly, we wanted to pull our hair out most of the trip.
But something is so wonderful about being with family.
When Jake threw himself on the ground and his body went limp whenever anyone tried to pick him up….
my family stuck in there with me. And when people would ask if the little boy was with us…my family proudly said yes.
Thank you Wollmers….
Thank you Mom and Dad, for taking us and making sure we were all taken care of, and thank you to my brothers and sisters who worked so hard on all the planning and made sure we all had a great time. I am so proud of you and glad to call you my family. There is nothing better than spending time with you and I will cherish every moment.
Moments like this sweet one…my brother Jeff holding my Evelyn on the plane ride home. Could anything be sweeter?
Or moments like this one…where we are ALL together, and despite the trouble it took for all of us to get there and be together, I am so glad we did it. What a beautiful family.

Thank you, God, for my family. I have been so blessed. I couldn’t have asked for better people to call my relatives. Family is about sticking together, and I am so glad we have all stuck in there.
I love you guys!
7 thoughts on “Wollmer Family Vacation 2009

  1. Minus the tantrums it looks like y'all had a lot of fun! I had fun just reading about it! I love good family time. It's a neat tradition y'all have! Welcome back to reality. ha.

  2. What a beautiful tribute to your family! Thank you so much for sharing! It looks like you had so much fun – tantrums and all! 😀 This is building memories!

  3. 🙂 what a beautiful legacy and heritage you have and are building on for your children. thank you so much for sharing with us!

  4. Thanks everyone, you are right the tantrums did build memories. We are already laughing about some of them now…ha. We did have a wonderful time with our family.And wow…David! 2 comments, I'm impressed! And after a VERY LONG post as well! ha xoxo kiss little Lincoln and precious Scout for us.

  5. What an adventure! The photos are such great memories, sometimes it would be easier if you didn't take any, but then you would never get this wonderful post! I love all of them!I think that it is awesome that your family does this! Can I be adopted in? Just kidding, my parents are planning a disney cruise for next year! My brother is SUPPOSED to get out of the army then, but looks like he is re-enlisting, so I am not sure how that is going to work out? Anyway, your family is quite beautiful and I am glad that you were able to spend such a fantastic time together!

  6. Love the photos and how darling are Jake's big hands?? 🙂 so cute! And what a good boy to know that was his only big spending splurge (he,he)Love you…

Leave a Reply

