I Tried To Make a Cheesecake….

Late Wednesday night, I tried to make a cheesecake.

I was very tired and could barely keep my eyes open, but I had special guests coming over on Thursday….

and I knew they would really love a cheesecake.

So I started at 10:30 PM, right after we returned from youth service and I got the kids into bed. I put the cheesecake into the oven at 11:15 PM *I think*. Since the cheesecake bakes for an hour, I figured I would lay down for a little bit, so I set the alarm and went to bed.

I did NOT hear the alarm. I was that tired. In fact, I didn’t hear the alarm until at least 45 minutes had passed and my poor little cheesecake top was burnt to a crisp.

I cried.

Then I regained my composure, scraped off the burnt top, filled it with the sour cream topping and put it in the fridge, hoping that maybe in the morning I was wrong about overcooking.

So why all this trouble?

For these people….

Enjoying some big favorites: bottled root beer, cream sodas and yummy Dave Wongs….

This is the staff of actstwenty9 youth ministry{there are a few people missing}. These people are the ones who hold our hands in battle for the young people of Christian Life Center. These are the people who slave away, week after week, without ever really being acknowledged- they set up our services {we have youth services in our gym, we create a church environment from nothing in just a few short hours}, they pray with our young people, they lead Bible studies, small groups and worship practices. Most importantly, they support Brandon and I. They are our team.

And I happen to know they like cheesecake. 🙂

So after the storm settled with my burnt top fiasco, I checked my cheesecake later Thursday afternoon. And you know what? It was still good!! In fact, despite the fact that it looked HORRIBLE, it was so good it was gobbled down in seconds by our staff.

So thank God the cheesecake wasn’t a complete failure.

And thank God for this group of incredible people. I hope you enjoyed the cheesecake! Thank you for joining us for a night of fun. Thank you also for our RAW gift certificate! That was so sweet of you…we will THOUROUGHLY enjoy it! 🙂  We love you!

The cheesecake is my mom’s recipe. It’s SUPER easy and very, very good. It was given to her 30 years ago while she was teaching Kinder for Hillsborough Unified School District. I don’t know who gave it to her, so I can’t credit them, but I guess once someone has had a recipe for 30 years it becomes theirs, right? 🙂

Mumsy’s Cheesecake Recipe

Crust:
Box of Honey Maid Graham Cracker Crumbs {or any other graham cracker crumb brand will work}
Butter
Sugar

Filling:
4 eggs beaten well {do not overbeat. I lightly beat them with a whisk in a separate bowl}
4 tea vanilla
1/2 tea lemon juice
4  8oz packages of cream cheese, at room temperature
1 1/2 C sugar

Sour Cream Topping:
2 C. sour cream
7 Tb sugar
2 tea vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Follow directions on the graham cracker crumb package. I usually double the recipe on the Honey Maid, since I like a very thick crust. With your fingers, mold the crumbs onto the bottom and the sides of a 9″ springform pan.

Mix cream cheese, sugar, beaten eggs, vanilla and lemon. Mix well until creamy and has very little lumps. Pour mixture into pan, stopping at one inch from top of pan {you might not use all the batter}. Bake for one hour. While cheesecake is baking, mix together the ingredients for sour cream topping. After the hour, remove cheesecake from oven, add the sour cream topping and cook for 10 more minutes.

Remove from oven, bring to room temperature, then refrigerate for at least 12 hours {I try to do a good 24 hrs}.

xoxo

4 thoughts on “I Tried To Make a Cheesecake….

  1. Amy – Ok, I did it! 25 Random Things about me! Weird thing is that it ended up under my family picture post – so you will have to go back a little! Unless I fix it in the meantime, but thought I would let you know it is there!

Leave a Reply

