O Tannenbaum….What A Frustrating Night!

Oh WOW….

That’s pretty much all I have to say at the moment.

Well, ok, probably not ALL I have to say, since you all know, if you have been reading this blog at all, that I have a LOT to say at all times….

But back to the WOW.

MY SON HAS BEEN REPLACED BY A MONSTER….a demon to be exact. And I don’t know how much longer I can handle this. I’m not kidding, this is just waaayyyy too much. So far tonight we have had a refusal to eat, about 5 tantrums, several time outs, lots and lots and lots of screaming, and plenty of tears to fill an ocean. I would love to know what my neighbors think. Ugh.

I had big plans to dedicate this post to my Christmas tree…and all about my Nannie who would play “Oh Christmas Tree” in German {O Tannenbaum}on her beloved piano during the Christmas season…but after enduring several hours of you-know-what from my demon…er…child, and after attempting to take pictures of my tree and ornaments that never really turned out, I just don’t have the energy.

So here’s my Christmas tree post in a nutshell:

I buy real Christmas trees. My husband hates me for it. Says with the money we spend on one real, flocked tree, we could buy a fake one and invest in our kids college funds or something like that{now doesn’t that make you feel peachy}. I am sure he is right, but I can’t do it, I love my real tree. Sorry everyone. So shoot me for not be economical.

Every year I decorate my tree to the max, but this year, I put on only the ornaments that mean something, and I put them up high, thanks to my child who insists on touching them constantly. Ok, I take that back, he’s actually doing pretty decent with the tree, but I am so mad at him right now I feel like being bitter, so please play along.

Anyhoo….here’s my tree. Please forgive the horrible pictures, I need a better camera….are you listening Santa?

And here’s the ornament that will literally be the death of me. Every year my mom gives everyone a beautiful ornament. This year, Jake got this one. He loves it and is always taking his fire engines up to it and says, “Look Mom, they’re the same!”. This would be fine if the ornament wasn’t GLASS. {Thanks mom}. So I am nervous wreck over this one. Highly doubt it will last another couple weeks…

Ok….even though I am madder than a hornet at this little man right now, is he not the cutest thing on the planet? This was taken the night we went and picked out our tree. Thank you God for this incredible blessing of a child…

and even though he is driving me NUT-SO right now, I know that You will give me the wisdom and strength to love and raise him. Thank you for this treasure.

And as I write, this precious boy is in the shower letting out a PIERCING scream and saying, “Wow, Mom, do you hear that scream? Cool!”

Again I say, wow.

7 thoughts on “O Tannenbaum….What A Frustrating Night!

  1. Amy, We have 2 peas in a pod. I feel for you. My son tests my patience every day, but then he does something so sweet like putting his arm around my neck & saying, "mommy, I just love you soooo much". He knows just what to do to get out of trouble. LOL. Your tree is beautiful and I love the firetruck ornament. Hopefully it will last you the next few weeks. 🙂 Happy Holidays to you & your family.

  2. Oh Mande, I tell you, I am seriously wondering how I will make it another couple years. Hopefully this is just the terrible 2's but he is SO defiant I am just sick of all the discipling! 😦 I'll pray for you, you pray for me…heheThanks girl, hope you are well?

  3. UGH UGH UGH is all I have to say. Something must have been in the air because Samuel was a mess tonight and all I can say is that my wooden spoon BROKE TWICE so you can imagine the rest. Just when I thought I was seriously going to pull my hair out, we went out and met some friends with another 3 year old, and he and my son are so funny together that I just couldn't stay mad. And then Samuel tried to shut the car door but we were parked on an incline so the door shut faster than normal, and he slammed it on his face. Yeah, his face. So as I cleaned up the blood and tears I kissed him and the drama of the early afternoon was forgotten. Except for the new wrinkle on my forehead and the new gray hair on my head. The threes are worse than the twos, I don't care what people say…but SURELY (please God please God please God) the fours are BETTER at last???

  4. Amy, it sounds like you are extremely partial to 'live' Christmas trees. I do have an experience to share….Several years ago I read an article that talked about how creative it is for toddlers to have their own Christmas trees. You can put soft, non breakable items on them and that way they can touch and play without Mom being stressed. I bought a very simple 'fake' tree from Target after Christmas (80% off!). It is not much when it comes to artificial trees, but it does the trick! And it looks pretty good when you get lights and ornaments on it. Hudson has not bothered the 'big' tree at all. I do want to say – remember to only put ornaments on the tree that you are not worried about! Last year Hudson received several ornaments as gifts and I stress about them, finding myself 'getting on' to Hudson if he touches them. It is a much better experience if there are things that you do not stress over. I do not know if this will help with your stress level. But, I do think Jake would find it fun. I have put simple things on Hudson's tree like origami swans I made out of wrapping paper (idea from crate&barrel magazine). Easy things.Merry Christmas!

  5. Audrey, I have thought about doing a kid tree. I even asked brandon about it, as they had tiny ones at the lot for very cheap. The fake one is a good idea! Actually he's really good with the tree, the only one he likes is the fire engine. But since the tree is in our living room which we hardly ever go in, its not the big of a temptation. But I will definitely check out those fake ones after christmas.Do you have a real tree or fake for yourselves?

  6. Ok – a couple of things…one, my husband is a fan of the real trees, while i am not, mostly because i am the one that has to clean it up at the end of the day! but, i will say the smell is delicious and it does look beautiful! yours is dashing – love the fake snow look (at least i think that is what that is!).two, your son. i know i shouldn't be laughing, but i am. the way you word things makes me feel like i am right there with you and when you were saying that he was yelling and he thought that it sounded cool – oh my, i did laugh out loud. i think i could hear him through the computer!hang in there!

  7. Jenni, just saw all these entries…totally hear you on the clean up. I love my tree for the week or so that it is fresh and smells wonderful, but HATE it once it starts to wilt and then drop needles. 😦 And yes, its flocked to look like fake snow haha…I love it cause its white, of course! :)And thanks for laughing with me. Honestly, I guess that's all I can do at this point. 😦 It helps to know that other people can relate!

Leave a Reply

