Holiday Stress Relievers…er…CRAFTS

Well, another frustrating Sunday for me. We had a jam-packed Saturday, so we all woke up tired, but when Jake crawled out of bed he sounded like a frog…or maybe a horse?…anyway, he sounded horrible and told me “my throat hurts”. Great. So we didn’t make it to church {we as in me, Jake and Evy…Brandon gets to go rain or shine, sick kids or no sick kids…can you hear the frustration in my voice?!?} . Trust me, a “well” Jake is hard enough to handle on Sunday mornings; I was not about to take on “sick” Jake.

Well, after sacraficing my Sunday morning, about one hour passed and he seemed to be just fine, perhaps a little tired, but no signs of a sore throat.

Figures.

Anyway, on to what I REALLY want to tell you all….

I. STILL. HAVE. IT.

Uh-huh, you heard me, apparently that teacher gene is really hard to kill because this last week I pulled out my best Christmas crafts and tried them out on my little booger, I mean, angel and they were a big, big HIT! So TAKE THAT stay-at-home mommy syndrome {yes, that’s the “where is the ‘OLD’ me” feeling that hits this mom on a daily basis}.

Anyhoo….

We all had so much fun with some of these crafts that I thought I would share them. Today, I will focus on two of them….so I apologize in advance for the length {that’s for you SoShawna, ha!} but I hope you can use them with your own kiddos. They are super fun!

Cinnamon Apple Christmas Ornaments

These are super easy and kids love them cause they get to play with  the dough and get all messy. ha. Not to mention that they smell HEAVENLY! Jake made about twenty of them and he is giving them out to his Grandparents, Aunts and Uncles, etc, as gifts{if any of you are reading this post, just act surprised when he gives it to you, please… :)}. He is very proud of them. Here’s the recipe:

This is not my own recipe. It is very popular and you can google it…it will come up on almost all teacher craft sites, like this one. FYI….you can get all these ingredients at the Dollar Tree…

1 C ground cinnamon
1 C applesauce
1/4 C white school glue {I used Elmers all purpose}

I doubled this recipe

Getting ready to start…so excited. Is he not the cutest kid on the planet?!?

Mix them together. If mixture is too stiff, add some water. Knead the clump together and wrap it in plastic wrap to sit for an hour {I conviently skipped this part as it was getting too close to bedtime, haha}.

Roll out dough. I let Jake push and pound on it until it was flat. You want about 1/2″-3/4″ thick. I think it works better thicker.

Then with cookie cutters, cut out shapes.

Using a pen, puncture a hole in the top for the ribbon and wire hanger.  I know I have cinnamon on my nail…sheesh

You can let them dry naturally for 3-5 days, but come on, let’s be honest, who has that much time?…so I baked them at 200 degrees for 2 or so hours until they were dry. REMEMBER TO FLIP THEM…. and by flip them I mean take them out of oven and turn them over so the backsides get baked as well. I forgot to do this so I had to rebake them and burnt them a tad…shhhhh! πŸ™‚

Note the gloves from this post, they are still around, ha!

Once dry you can decorate them with glitter, etc., but I usually just add some curling ribbon and a hanger. I feel the beauty is the child’s craft and yummy smell.

The finished product, all wrapped and ready to go…

So there you have a very easy kid gift for your loved ones!

Immediately after we made these, Jake was shipped off to bed and I did a little craft of my own as a STRESS RELIEVER! ha…no really, it was super easy and so rewarding due it’s yummy factor! Monica H., I included this one for you! πŸ™‚

I found the recipe on this blog, who had found it from this blog, blah blah, you know how that goes. All I’m trying to say is that its not my recipe, ha! And mine didn’t turn out half as cute as theirs did, but it was SOOO good that I highly doubt anyone will care what it looks like.

And yes, facebook friends, this is what I did with those 4oz Ball jars that I was searching all over Stockton for, thanks so much for your help- OSH had them! πŸ™‚

Cinnamon Honey Butter

2 Sticks Butter, at room temperature
1 Cup Powdered Sugar, sifted
1 Cup Honey
2 Teaspoons Ground Cinnamon

Whip butter. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer which is the ONE kitchen item I absolutely CANNOT live without…

ANYWAY, add, the honey, sugar and cinnamon, whip some more, scrapping sides to make sure you get all the honey. I let the mixer whip for a while until smooth. Then {with Brandon’s help :)}, I poured the mixture into a large Ziploc bag, snipped off the end, and pipped it into the 4oz jars, like this:

This batch filled 11 of the 12 jars. I used scraps of material I had laying around to decorate the tops and added some Christmas tags. Here it is all dolled up, in my usual simple, no frills way. πŸ™‚

PLEASE don’t look too closely at my grout. 😦 Someday I will have granite countertops, and hardwood floors, and ….

anyway {AGAIN}…

I had so much fun doing these two “crafts”….they really made me stop and think about what Christmas was all about. I mean, I have been running around like a chicken with my head cut off trying to finish all my shopping, wrap gifts, etc., that I haven’t once stopped to enjoy the little things, like spending time with my babies or making something I enjoyed. I don’t think Jesus would be very happy with me about that would, now would He? ha.

Anyway, that butter is divine! {The butter is best at room temperature, BTW} I have eaten it the last two mornings on my toast. It makes you want to have three pieces of toast instead of two, but I refrain. Instead I have been helping myself to my chocolate chip cookies that I have been making this weekend. That’s a better choice, don’t you think?

xoxo

11 thoughts on “Holiday Stress Relievers…er…CRAFTS

  1. How fun Amy =) That is such a great idea. I'm going to need to come up with some things for Bishop. To keep his little interest and get him doing some things. Sorry for missing this morning Bishop went over board on sweets last night and was up at 3am sick, so we stayed home as well and when I say we I mean the boys and I. Jeremy still had the opportunity to go. I feel your pain!

  2. REgina, you should try this one. You could do all the prep work and let him bang away at that dough and then cut out the figures. I really doubted that Jake could do it, but he did so well-he surprised me.I'm doing another craft with Jake tomorrow that I'll blog about that would be perfect for Bishop! I hope you find some fun things for him to do! πŸ™‚

  3. I laughed so hard while reading your post! I love the little crafty things you did…the honey butter sounds scrumptious. I did a similar project but with homemade pomagranate jelly. Ok but who is soshawna? I'm not sure if I know her or not…:)Merry Christmas!!!

  4. Aim, the apple butter sounds sooo good. I am going to try it when we get home from CA. I wonder how long it will last (as in okay to eat)?I can't wait to try the other craft idea with Reagan…hopefully next year around Christmas she will be old enough. we'll see…

  5. martha moos moos again, its cinnamon honey butter you goose OR cinnamon apple ornmaents and as far as the butter lasting, hmm…. I don't know? How long does butter last for? A month? That's basically all it is. You should make it with you momma. She would LOVE it. It actually reminded me of her and I almost made her eggnog bread to go with it, but I'm LAZY. ha. xoxo

  6. Oops. So that's what that little gingerbread man ornament was made out of. Samuel brought it home from school but first of all, he kept tasting it and that annoyed me. Secondly, I didn't know what it was made out of but it sure smelled sweet, and since roaches are an on-going problem here in the tropics I didn't want to put Gingerbread Man on the tree and therefore see roaches living there. So I threw this nice handcrafted ornament away. {gasp} Bad Mommy…sorry Ms. Teacher…ha….but hey, he also brought home some nice non-food item ornaments that make my roach-free tree look nice.

  7. Amy – I just LOVE this post, and thanks for posting the recipe, etc. You have turned into such a crafty momma – I am so proud of you!I think I will whip up a batch of that butter sometime this week! yum-o!

  8. 1. CUTE shirt2. Awesome ornament idea! Kyan's Preschool class actually made these for parents this year!3. That butter looks YuMmY4. Sort of feeling like I have been an absentee mom with the kids right now reading about all this fun stuff you have been doing with your kids, mine have been watching Yo Gabba Gabba all day! After Christmas I guess I will have time to try some stuff?! I am lucky they are so good at entertaining themselves!

  9. Ok, Jenni, I was so afraid someone would think that we have been sitting around all day doing crafts, but that is the FARTHEST thing from the truth! ha! I think we have literally watched Miracle on 34th street and Home alone at least a million times before I got the gumption to do something, and most of it was done VERY QUICKLY after I put Evy down for her morning nap or at night. Plus Brandon's buisness has been slow so I have had the time….DO NOT feel guilty. I felt like a horrible mom that I stay home with them hardly ever do anything with them..seriously hardly make it to the park at times. ha! Anyway…you are a great mom, it shows and you guys always do wonderful things with the kids.and the tee is Old Navy 1.99! I love that thing! πŸ™‚

  10. Moni thanks so much for telling me I'm crafty…that's a big deal coming from YOU..the craftiest momma around. :)We got your christmas cards AWESOME! We want SAm to do our pics one year when it won't be too much on the kids to make it over to SJ. xoxox

Leave a Reply

