Christmas 2009 Memories

Remember the magic of Christmas when you were a kid? The anticipation all throughout dinner on Christmas Eve, pretending to eat your sweet potatoes but really eyeing all your gifts under the tree?

Well, someone please tell me where that magic went, ’cause this mommy is severely missing it.

Really, I mean, they need to publish a “How to Survive Christmas for Parental Dummies”. Seriously, I.AM.POOPED…. and wondering why Christmas just doesn’t seem as fun as it used to?

Ugh.

Ok, venting aside…

Despite my complaining, our Christmas was wonderful…even through “Mommy Eyes”. Jake is really getting the whole Christmas thing and just had the time of his life. It was so fun to watch him be able to open his own gifts. And my baby girl…it was her first Christmas and I hope she had fun?!? She got gobs of gifts, but all she really cared about was the wrapping….

Anyway, a Recap of our holiday:

Christmas Eve

We drove to Santa Rosa to be with the Wollmer Family at my parent’s house. I love those people! It was so good to be with my siblings and their families…we really missed my brother, Brad, who had to stay in London for the holidays. 😦

My mom’s dinner table for the adults. She has had that apron my whole life. I love it! 🙂
The snowball cake that my mom got from our favorite patisserie, Michelle Marie’s
A very tired Brandon and me…

The Wollmer Grand-daughters, Brooke, Brittany {holding Evy} and Emma…
T
he Wollmer grand-sons, Brandon, Andrew and Jake.

Me, my sister Pammy {the very best sister ever} and my Dad. My sister was attempting to explain Catch Phrase to everyone and no one was listening…I had Brandon snap a picture during all the confusion. Sorry its really bad…we’ve been experiementing with the settings, not succeeding, obviously!
 I love you, Pammy!
We played Bingo and Catch Phrase late into the evening. My mom got prizes and we all fought hard for them! 🙂 My dad was so excited to win a gift card to his favorite yogurt joint… He said it was the best part about the whole night. 🙂
Christmas Day:
We spent the morning at my parents opening stockings. Evy and her first Christmas morning loot, sin’t she precious?
Jake with his…
Are these
not the cutest kids on the planet? OMW, I love them sooo much!
Me and my girl, her first Christmas!
After opening our stockings, we drove home to be with the Arthur and Abel Miraflor clans. We all met up at Uncle Abel’s house, as has been the custom for so many years. It was so good to see cousin Brandy, Johnny and Katelynn all the way from St. Louis as well as Brooke and family! Uncle Johnny gave the kids horseback rides….
And then Jake tried to be the horse…
And then Uncle Jon decided to give Uncle Johnny a lift. Hmmm…. we’ll try not to ask about that hand there?!?
The Day After Christmas
On Saturday morning, our little family had our little Christmas together.
It was beautiful.
We read the Christmas story together and watched selected parts of “The Nativity Story” while Jake played with his homemade one. We prayed together.
It was at this moment when the Christmas “magic” hit me. Being with my babies, my husband and in our own little home. Despite the fact that we LOVED being with everyone, there is just something to be said for sleeping in, hanging out in our PJ’s, being together and worshipping our Savior for coming to this earth.
Since we all looked like POOP {ha!} these are the only pictures I will share….the kids with Uncle Brad’s gifts that he sent from London: Evy with her first Disney Barbie and Jake with a Tech Deck starter system. Thanks Uncle Brad!
Later that evening, Brandon’s parents, sister and her boyfriend and brother and wife came over for dinner and presents. It was so good to be with them all, but we missed Brandon’s sister Bryony, David and Scout! We had a great time, though, and the boys played Wii into the “wee” hours of the morning {ha, I know, cheesy}…
Anyway, I was so tired by this point that I didn’t get very many good pictures, and the ones I did get were random…but I will say, Bryony, your glow sea horse and fireman outfit were WINNERS!
I am so thankful for our families. They are a beautiful part of our lives and I couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate the Christmas season than with them surrounding us. I hope your Christmas was wonderful!
In closing, Brandon, Evy and I are in So Cal this week for the Holiday Youth Convention. Brandon is speaking during the day. I hope I get to see many of
you!
And oh yes….
I have something very exciting to share with my friends when we get back. It has something to do with these two pictures….
 

Think “hoodies”! 🙂
xoxo
14 thoughts on “Christmas 2009 Memories

  1. please tell me you made those?! i need them! or lola! too cute! you should be in trouble for leaving me hanging like that!we do the christmas crackers as well, chad's grandma is english – hence our tradition! glad you had such a merry christmas! there is something about having a lazy day right after and being with just family!have fun in so cal!

  2. Love the handiwork, so cute! Cute pics; Evy is darling. Please send her to me so I can kiss her and hug her. And please send Jake here so I can watch how utterly crazy he and Samuel could get if allowed to do so…oh yeah, and you & Brandon can come too. I miss you 😦

  3. Well the Christmas magic for a mom is getting to watch our precious little one's faces when they open their presents! We will always be pooped because we are doing it all now but making memories for all of them forever!! We love being with our family too and are so thankful for you! Thanks for driving so much to be with everyone and I'm glad you were able to have a little family time to yourselves! Love you!

  4. Love Love Love the Hoodies…. Your friend in AZ wants one… HINT! 😉 Love your pics – you have a gorgeous family

  5. ha! Jenni, you are too funny! You will have to wait for all the info in the next post that I should have up by this weekend..but yes, I made them. 🙂 Sorry, didn't mean to leave you hanging, just didn't have any internet in our hotel room in SoCal. 🙂 And that's so cool about the crackers! ARen't they fun?yayyy my sister and Janelle are now bloggers! 🙂 love you guys.And Mande and SoShawna, thanks for your encouraging words. STay tuned, I want to know what your thoughts are about what I've got up my sleeve. xoxo

  6. Your Mom looks amazing as always! LOVE the hoodies you did an amazing job on them! So excited to see the rest of them 🙂 And waiting for you to make me one 😉 hehe…We will have to have a sewing night once things slow down after the holidays. Love you Amy…

  7. I drop a comment each time I like a short article on a website or if I have something to valuable to contribute to your conversation. It’s a result from the fire communicated in the article I browsed. And after reading this write-up I was basically moved enough to drop a comment here

  8. Trying to find lots of cheap occasional for the special events, like conventional & promenade days to weeks, often the toxic combination participants therefore the working day a social event? Wives can become unclear about one impressive occasional clothes. That kinds, the colours therefore the pricing is many a thing puzzling and additionally dull. white dresses for prom,Like me, I like to decide to wear the revolutionary outfit nevertheless i very have on care to browse. Today I most certainly will impart quite a few different quite short prom dresses I acquired, and what a great deal more, the prices are truly minimum. These kinds of clothes I’ve truly gotten they are under A hundred dollars.

  9. Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I was wanting to know your situation; we have created some nice procedures and we are looking to swap methods with others, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  10. It’s very unhappy indeed to find out this company identify down on its knees in these humiliation right after producing numerous lovely automobiles about the ages. With all from the greed planning all around today and obscene selling prices at auctions, below is but a further example of your Authentic reality of our moments.

Leave a Reply

