Seasons

A couple of days ago, after spending the last several months feeding Evy from the Bumbo seat, Brandon pulled out the highchair from the garage. It was there for several reasons, but the main two being:

1. Jake stopped sitting in it when he turned 18 months old. I got tired of turning around to grab something from the fridge only to find my son’s legs fully extended over the tray and his body scaling down the side of the highchair. The thought of him falling and cracking open his skull, or worse, hanging himself from the seatbelt that never seemed to work, caused me great anxiety so we introducted the booster seat. The kid is Houdini, no joke.
2. The tray was loose, and since nobody was using it, it was in the way.
So last week I told Brandon we MUST pull that bad boy out, wash it down and fix the tray. Since Evy is ready for some solids, I couldn’t handle the Bumbo anymore. And apparently I have another Houdini on my hands because Evy flips herself out of that thing anyway. Oh Lordy.
Anyway, the other night Brandon brought the highchair in. He fixed the tray and then proceeded to fix the seatbelt as well. I’m not even sure Houdini could get out of this thing now. ha.
Jake was so excited to see his old chair. He climbed right in and then proceeded to call himself “Evy, his baby brother”. {He’s so stuck on that!} I love this boy…
PLEASE ignore the hoodie you-know-what behind him. That has been my little work space the last couple of weeks and its BOMBED.
Anway, all this highchair stuff got me thinking about how quickly life passes you by. It seems like just yesterday he was just a little bambino eating from that highchair.
And then…
the sprained foot.
Yes, Jake sprained his foot on Monday. I really have no idea how he did it, but I have a feeling it was from one of the hurling himself off our bed episodes. He has many of those.
So all evening Monday, and most of Tuesday morning Jake was limping. I called the Dr Tuesday and they got us right in. I was terrified it was broken, and just a couple days before his 3rd birthday too. Oh brother.
Furthermore, I was so not in the mood to go to the doctor. Taking Jake to the doctor is NOT FUN. They have this play structure thing in the waiting room….WHY DO THEY DO THAT? Don’t they know that when they call his name that he is NOT going to want to come? And then mommy {me} is going to have to drag him, kicking and screaming, out from his hiding spot underneath the slide, and I will be completely humiliated as he is wiggling out of my arms, belting out, “Mommy, NO, I want to play, I’m not having the doctor!”
And then… we will have to walk a few feet to the scale which he is supposed to stand on, but instead he will throw himself on the ground in a limp heap and refuse to get weighed.
And then…when the nurse will try to take his temp he is going to push the thermometer away and scream “No! I don’t want my temperature taken!” and start kicking the patient bed with his feet.
And I am always embarassed, frustrated, and- more than anything- TIRED of it. I NEVER want to take Jake to the doctor…can you blame me?
So I braced myself for the worst as we drove down March Lane for our appointment. The entire way I kept saying things like…
“Ok, now when the nice lady calls, “Jacob”, you have to come from the play structure and walk to the scale, ok?”
And…
“If you are a good boy and do what the Dr and nurse ask you to do, they will give you a sticker and a candypop at the end. And then Mommy will take you to In-N-Out for a cheeseburger and fries!” 
{Sorry, but a little bribery never hurts right?}
Jake said: “Ok, Mommy!” I heard: “No way will that ever happen.” ha
So we get into the Drs and Jake starts to play. I wait nervously. The nurse calls, “Jacob” and…..
Jacob COMES!! He smiles and says, “Hi, I’m Jacob” and then walks- brace yourselves….STRAIGHT TO THE SCALE and stands very still while the nurse weighs him. The nurse was shocked. I about passed out.
Then Jake proceeds to follow the nurse to the room, walks in, jumps up on the bed, LAYS DOWN, offers his underarm for the temp, and SITS STILL WITHOUT SAYING A WORD while he gets his temp taken.
All the while I’m wondering where my child went?!?
The appointment ended with the sticker{and no asking for a second one!}, a candypop {what Jake calls Lollypops}, a cheeseburger, and one very blown away mommy.
As we were driving home, I started thinking about seasons. About the highchair and how he grew out of it so quickly, and about how several months ago my child was seriously in his terrible twos…so bad that I never had the guts to take him anywhere. And how all of sudden the last couple of weeks he is actually LISTENING and doing what we ask. He is changing. It’s getting better.
My mind went to Solomon’s “To everything there is a season”, and I cried. I realized that life has its ebbs and flows and that the frustration with life’s bumps in the road does not last forever, despite the feeling we get that it will. I praised God that He does not allow us stay miserable, that we go through frustrating times to make us stronger, and to make us thankful for the good times, when they come.
So right there in the car I thanked God for the seasons of life. And for my baby boy. And for the understanding that seasons make us stronger.
And that I am so glad that we have them.
“To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven…” Ecclesiastes 3:1
My two beautiful babies, watching “Up” and holding hands. Aren’t they precious?

xoxo
11 thoughts on “Seasons

  1. Amy Love your thoughts on seasons. You are truly a gem and your love for your family is priceless. You god fearing love has embraced my thoughts tonight. Love you. xoxoElisha

  2. I adore the hoodies that you make. You have such a talent. Have you ever thought about making hats for babies with that ruffle. If so, let me know. I would love to purchase one for my photography. Newborn babies. Great blog, I like.

  3. haha, I love how he's been getting his genders all mixed up…so cute! And that picture of them holding hands is adorable! That's the sort of picture that I would treasure for years to come. 🙂 I'm glad things are looking up for you!

  4. Amy, this post is beautiful and sweet. So are you my friend. The picture of Jacob & Evy watching Up is adorable. I am so excited because my fabulous hoodie arrived today. LOVE it! Thank you and as always I am looking forward to your next post. You are such an inspiration to mom's everywhere.

  5. Hilarious! I know, sometimes I find Samuel actually LISTENING and OBEYING and the shock always freezes me in my tracks…lol…but not for long, because Miss Priss Olivia is right behind him, at 1-going-on-4 (in her little mind), and she's beginning to assert her independence. But now she also has Samuel yelling at her…ha…"Oh-whi-wah! STOP DAT!" Poor baby.

  6. Look how cute Jake and Evy are…that is a precious picture of them holding hands. What a wonderful big brother. Great post…love you!

Leave a Reply

