Is It Valentine's Day ALREADY?!?

Well, a couple days ago I woke up out of my mommy fog and realized that it was ALMOST VALENTINE’S DAY! ACK!!!
Where have I been?
I haven’t been thinking about a special little gift or even a card for my husband {I have since remedied that, no worries Babe}, or thought of  making Valentine cards with the kiddos, or bought the ingredients for my yummy Valentines cake I have been making since I was a kid.
But then I started thinking, do I REALLY want my already hyper chid indulging in a giant valentine’s cake? Futhermore, do I want that cake hanging around for this already struggling to lose the rest of baby weight mommy? So I changed my mind and nixed the cake.
Hope nobody is offended.
But I DID decide that this morning I would make a special breakfast for my little family. And by special I mean something other than cereal or toast but nothing too fancy like a quiche or anything, because really, who has time for that? {If you made one this weekend, please don’t tell me. ha.}
So I pulled out my Nannie’s famous pancakes, because they are well, well loved around here. Even Evy gobbles them up. They are so light and fluffy that you can literally eat 10 of them before you know it. In fact we had a friend come over for breakfast once and devour TWENTY of them before my very eyes….no names mentioned {*ahem* Glenn Karamath}.
 I also made some eggs but burnt them while I was talking to my sister-in-law Bryony about baby Lincoln who arrives in one short month! whoohoo! So try not to notice that part. Such is my life these days…
And it is such a very, very beautiful day here- lots of sun and wonderful mildly warm weather{sorry east coasters 😦 }- that my little family is lounging around, playing soccer outside and taking little cat naps today. What a wonderful way to spend a Valentine’s weekend!
I hope you all have a very happy Valentine’s Day.
Much love to you all!!
Nannie Wollmer’s Buttermilk Pancake Recipe
serves 3- I double this recipe
2 eggs
3/4 C. Flour
1 teas bking powder
3/4 teas baking soda
1/2 tea salt
Buttermilk
Separate the eggs, setting aside the whites in a metal bowl. Beat together yokes and all dry ingredients, then add enough buttermilk to make thick- not too runny {about 1/2-3/4 C.} Beat egg whites to low peak and then fold into batter.
Cook on med griddle until brown on each side.
Enjoy!!
xoxo
4 thoughts on “Is It Valentine's Day ALREADY?!?

  1. Oh yum! I must try those pancakes…I put Buttermilk on my shopping list for tomorrow, so I can be sure to make them soon….I needed a new recipe, the one I grew up on, well I just don't like it that well, so in the meantime, we've been using a boxed mix, which works out fine for 6:15a feedings before school…so I'm looking forward to trying yours out…thanks!xoxoSteph

  2. Steph I forgot to mention the other reason why I double this recipe…not only can you gobble down a whole bunch of them in one sitting, but they are really really good warmed up! We eat the the next morning, or Jake loves them cold with a little butter and jam on them as an afternoon snack. Sounds weird I know, but I promise they are soooo yummy! ha! :)good luck, for your fam I would at least triple it! :)xoxo

  3. HAHA, your comment totally made me LOL right now….haha…ummmmm, Amy…gurrrrrrrrl, ahem, this is the fam who now needs anywhere from 18-24 eggs for ONE MEAL! yes, that was not a typo, I'm serious…so yes, prob quadruple I will be doing….LOLnot weird, my kids do the same thing, I do jam on one later in the day, and Carly sometimes likes to take a pancake plain for her school lunch…loltoo funny!I will be trying very soon….xoxo

Leave a Reply

