The Ugly

As I sit here writing this, I have a giant box of kleenex perched right by my arm, a huge bag of cough drops in the kitchen and half used box of Tylenol Cold in the medicine cabinet.
I am sick.
ugh.
I thought I escaped it this year when Brandon had the whole 2 month deal. In fact the frustrating part about this story is that he is feeling gobs better and I am not. Which means, since I didn’t show him much sympathy during his sickness, guess who isn’t getting much sympathy now. Umhmm….ME! 😦
So I’ve been trying to keep up as much as I can, but I’m not doing such a great job. And all this got me thinking about a blog post that I read from one of my favorite blogs, Fly Through Our Window. Darby, the bloggette, wrote an awesome post a couple weeks back that has really stuck with me, called “Objects on screen are not as they appear”. It was such a fabulous post…
Somewhere in there she said this, “I show you the good and the bad, but never the ugly”. Wow.
Isn’t that the truth? This whole blogging world gives off the apperance sometimes that there is never ugly. Bad yes, ugly no. I hate that.
To be honest {since you all know how honest I am, ha!}, I WISH I could show you the ugly. I wish I could tell you how real we are and how desperate we are in need of a Savior, just like everyone else. But really, you can’t show the ugly….because …..because….wow, because why? why can’t we show the ugly?
Pride maybe? Or protecting those we love? Or simply protecting ourselves?
I’m not sure, but for what it’s worth, I guess my whole point about this post is this: THERE IS UGLY. And if you are out there thinking we are a happy family with no struggles…you are wrong. We struggle. We yell at each other, we have money problems, we make mistakes, we are human. End of story I guess.
Sorry, I don’t mean to ramble on and on, but I just feel sooooo behind today and so not on top of it. I’ve been taking little cat naps on the couch while my kids play {gasp!}, and I watched my son eat two whole cough drops for his “throat hurt” before I figured I better stop him. I watch my daughter clean up the floor for me by putting it all in her mouth. I really feel like a failure today.
So there you have it. And that’s not the ugly, BTW. It’s not even the bad, really, is it? It’s just the kinda bad.
So thank you Jesus that you love me through the good, the bad and the ugly. You are so good to me.
“Seek the kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and will give you everything you need.” Matthew 6:33
Us…when its not ugly, ha! Mothers day 2007, we had just gotten a new camera and Brandon was snapping away. I label this picture, “not too bad” cause even though I had just washed my face, my hair is a mess, etc….I think you can feel love, which is what gets you through the bad/ugly anyway, right? xoxo
5 thoughts on “The Ugly

  1. your post couldn't be more true! we do post the good and the bad – but never the ugly…but, i admit, that at the roseland house, there is ugly too. sometimes more than needs to be. we are not all roses all of the time. what makes up for the ugly is all of the good :)i hope that you feel better soon.what a sweet picture of you and the hubs. you can feel the love oozing…

  2. Sorry about all your boogers… =) I hope you are feeling better today. Love this blog… it's got me thinking. xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

