Food Friday!

Ok, I want to start off by saying I’m so sorry there are so many pictures, but I have good reason, I promise. Yesterday my dear friend Joy and her little boy Thaddeus came from the city to hang out with me for a couple days. The boys are having so much fun and had their first ever sleepover….
We were amazed that they were able to sleep in the same bed without getting out or waking eachother up! But they did great and it was so cute.
Anyway, I made cookies for them last night, while Joy made quesadillas and Brandon took pictures. My chocolate chip cookies are super well loved. Seriously, EVERYONE loves them and everytime I make them people ask me for the recipe. I have a good chuckle at their shock when I tell them its just the recipe off the Nestle Chocolate Chip Bag!!
It really is…but with a couple secrets and are you ready for them?!? 
Here they are:
1. Flour
2.Time
3. Cooling Racks
Yup…that’s it! People don’t believe me and tell me that when they try it doesn’t turn out like mine. Well all I have to say to that is…who’s cooking tastes as good as someone else’s? 🙂 In other words, I’m sure they are great!  Give it a try and tell me what you think!
Amy’s Chocolate Chip Cookies
{Yes, Jenni, you are probably right, all these recipes probably start with “Amy’s” haha!}
Start with the Nestle Tollhouse recipe:
•2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
•1 teaspoon baking soda
•1 teaspoon salt
•1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
•3/4 cup granulated sugar
•3/4 cup packed brown sugar
•1 teaspoon vanilla extract
•2 large eggs
•2 cups (12-oz. pkg.) NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels
 
**These are also AWESOME with white chocolate chips as well**
 
So here you go….
 
Cream together the butter, sugar and vanilla, it will look like this when done
 
Then add the eggs and mix
Ok, First trick…
Add the flour, salt, baking soda BUT….instead of 2 1/4 Cups of flour, do a heaping 2 1/2 Cups. By “heaping” I mean this…
After mixing together, do a finger test…if the batter sticks to your finger like this
 
then you need more flour. I add by 1/4 – 1/2 cup full like this
 
Then do finger test a
gain. The batter shouldn’t stick to your finger like this
If the batter doesn’t stick to your finger, then the batter is good! Add chocolate chips and mix
Using a spoon, drop cookies onto sheet. You can put them somewhat close together like this
 
Ok, Second Trick…
Underbake the cookies. I believe the instructions say to cook for 10-12 mins, but I cook for 8-9 mins. My oven runs a little hot, so you will have to find the right time, but when you take them out, you want them SLIGHTLY browned, like this
 
 
Meanwhile, my family is doing their thing in the background
 
 
The “Keep calm and carry on” says it all. Anyway…
 
Ok, Third Trick….
Let the cookies cool for a min and then immediately place on the cooling rack
 
They will be a bit gooey and might lose their form a little, but that’s what makes them yummy, trust me…
Let sit for 5 mins, then enjoy. The backs will look like this
And they will look like this while being eaten
Gone in two seconds flat…literally.
And of course you will thank me for the sugar high. In fact, they will be so crazy on sugar that everyone will end up wrestling for hours on end, even when they are supposed to be sleeping.
Anyway, happy food Friday! I think its actually Saturday now, sorry, but Joy has been sitting here making fun of my blog so I’ve had to stand up for myself the entire time I have been typing this post.
She so doesn’t get it.
Anyway…ENJOY!!
xoxo
7 thoughts on “Food Friday!

  1. ok, so i did a post about my aunt heidi's "secret" recipe for homemade chocolate chip cookies that wasn't so secret anymore! too funny that is it SO similar to yours, straight off the back of tollhouse semisweet chocolate chip bag! Except, when I attempted it, they did NOT turn out like hers……that is when she showed me the tricks of her trade and i seriously bit into the best cookies of my entire life! i get the same reaction you do! here is that post, just in case you want to put a few more twists in (it really isn't anything too drastic – i think just the double strength vanilla and a crisco stick instead of the butter, but i still under cook 'em like you do:http://roselandfamily.blogspot.com/2010/02/auntie-heidis-homemade-chocolate-chip.htmland here they are in pictures:http://roselandfamily.blogspot.com/2010/01/rainy-day-cookies.htmljust so you know i was DYING at this post! i think it proved to me that we were destined to know each other!?! sounds silly, i know!and the boys looked so cute at their very first little sleepover!

  2. Yummy!! OK one dozen of your fabulous cookies please….overnighted. 🙂 Jenni, I am still waiting on that recipe…..LOVE me some chocolate chip cookies. But I always make mine light on the chips- in fact I purposely make a few minus chips- the batter is what I love the most. Jake is such a little ham…and I am glad I am not the only one that lets mine jump up on the counter- well, I guess we don't really let them- but they do it anyways, sooooo…..Hope you have a wonderful weekend Amy!! xoxo

  3. I so agree, I use this same recipe and its the best 🙂 Kids and husband gobble them up everytime. Im glad you are continuing on with this idea of food friday 🙂

  4. Little T and Jake are so adorable with their first sleepover 🙂 And YUMMY cookies! Any leftover? ;)Love you…

  5. Amy, my mom taught me the flour trick years ago, and I always tell my friends to add more flour when they complain about their cookies being so flat! I also love chocolate chip cookies when they are a little gooey. YUM, now my mouth is watering for some fresh baked cookies! BTW,I love your recipe blogs.

  6. I'm officially LOVING Food Fridays. I have made both of your recipes and they were a smash hit… Actually – as we speak I have a dozen of your cookies in the oven. Downside? I may send you my gym bill as I am not sure I will be able to fit into my jeans soon. xoxoJ

Leave a Reply

