The Rainbow

If you have been following my little venture from the beginning, you will remember this hoodie.
It’s called The Rainbow and it was the VERY FIRST pattern I used to embellish my very first hoodie. I actually didn’t even sew my first one, my mom in law did, as I was too scared to do it, hehe {obviously I have overcome that fear!}. My mom in law helped me make a pattern out of newspaper and we had so much fun putting this together.
When we made that first hoodie, I used felt for the rainbow. I LOVED the colors I was able to find and I wore that puppy constantly. But over time, the felt started to ball, and when I decided to start selling hoodies off my blog, I was leary of offering the felt rainbow because of the balling, so I did a rainbow out of jersey knit.
The jersey knit was cute, but was not my favorite. I was really wanting to go with that 80’s retro look, and the jersey just didn’t grasp it, so I switched to fleece, which supposedly doesn’t ball like felt, but the colors were still too bright and the material balled anyway.
So, I am back to square one…the felt. And I love it.
I came to the conclusion {after I was stopped and given compliments constantly on my first hoodie, balls and all}, that the balling makes the hoodie. It looks so broken in, so 30 years old and so RETRO.
I loved it.
So this hoodie is back. And if you don’t like balling, then purchase a fuzzbuster..cause it will do the trick. But trust me, you will be addicted!
And you might be wondering what this picture has to do with anything?
Well, it might surprise you when I tell you that I LOVE Pumas and have a small collection of them. In fact, Brandon does too, and Jake even can recognize the Puma logo a mile away. They are definitely my “tenny” of choice! And I have to say, Puma’s are what inspired me to create this hoodie. That and my beat up Parcel bag…
This hoodie is PERFECT for a night out in the City…in fact, if I had this hoodie when Brandon and I were dating, I would have worn this all over the streets of San Francisco!
And to make things even more exciting…I created a mini
Or I should say my friend Alisha {who still doesn’t have a blog, *ahem*} shrunk my adult pattern down for this mini and cut the material out while I sewed the adult. Thanks Lish! 🙂
It is oh-so-darling…really, really, cute. In fact everyone who has come over the last couple days and seen it sitting on the table gasps when they see it, it’s that cute!
And of course, perfect with those mini Pumas!
And the adult and mini look so cute together….
Both the mini and the adult rainbow wrap around the sides like this
And they are both the introduction to my fall 2010 line of hoodies. They are part of the “Retro Collection”. And just a FYI…there will also be a “Candy Collection”, which is basically double ruffle Brillas and an “Elegant Collection”, which I am sooo excited to show in the week or two to come.
If you would like to purchase the adult Rainbow, it’s available HERE
and the Mini is HERE
Hope you all have a great weekend!
xoxo
7 thoughts on “The Rainbow

  1. Thanks guys…you're two of my loyal readers haha. 🙂 And Katie, that will more than likely be your next hoodie FOR SURE! ha. xoxo

Leave a Reply

