Rambling Thoughts…

My mom is going to be here in one hour. That means I have one hour to clean my house, since my mom likes a tidy ship. That also means I have one hour to finish that giant mound of laundry that is on the guest bed. And that means I have one hour to squeeze in some blogging. 🙂
A little earlier today I was chatting with a friend{thanks Abbie! :)} about business and growing and just trying to find your groove in life. Now, I am no stragner to having a home business as Brandon has had one our entire marriage. But I have to be honest, running a business from home, a creative business no less, is very hard. First, there is the challenge of keeping your house organized{which do not be fooled, mine never is} and then to go along with that task, there is the trying to maintain some type of creative mindset within that lack of organization, which is sometimes impossible. And lastly, on top of all that, you have the “regret” complex.
If you are not familiar with the “regret” complex, let me fill you in. The regret complex hits you when you are browsing the internet or pursuing the mall and you see a beautiful item made very similar to yours, but its not yours…and you wonder, “Why didn’t I think of that?” How did I miss that idea…oh, that must of have been overlooked while I was scrounging through my very unorganized house looking for my brain.
Right.
You know what I’m talking about? Yeah, the Regret Complex is a killer. The why can’t I do that? Or the how come my life isn’t going the way theirs is? Or {a big one for me} why aren’t I selling like so and so?
This morning as I made breakfast, I started quoting some Scripture. Its not a strange thing for me to do, afterall, all those memory verses I learned from Christian school tend to stick around!! 🙂 But as I was quoting the Scripture, it hit me what I was quoting:
“Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful. But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night. And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth HIS fruit in HIS season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper…” Psalm 1
Wow…so that means that if I plant myself by the rivers of LIVING water my fruit will come in MY season. In other words, my season is coming. My fruit is coming….maybe not today, but it WILL come!!
It kinda reminds me of giving birth…you know you wait and wait and wait and wait…and end up feeling frustrated, bloated, gasy {ha, yes, I did say that!!} and looking like this:
Us on Easter Sunday, 2009, three weeks before Evelyn was born…
But its so worth it because then you have this:

And it comes at the right time, you know?
Anyway, I have no idea where this all came from other than just feeling retrospective. Thinking about my past, and contemplating my future. Wondering what God has for me. And trusting that whatever it is, if I put myself in His hands, it will come at the right time.
It’s called Patience! 🙂
So be gone, regret complex! I don’t have time for you today. I’m too busy planting myself in the right spot.
xoxo
9 thoughts on “Rambling Thoughts…

  1. Thank you Amy! I really needed this! Also, you should know that I saw the top half of the pic of you and your hubby before reading that you were pregnant, and I couldn't even tell! You looked beautiful. You should see a pic of me a week before I had Gray. My face looked like it was full of water. You could have taken a pin and popped it! haha!

  2. your mom sounds like my mom – i swear she cleans after i think my house is clean! when do we get the mom cleaning gene zapped into our bodies?! i can stay picked up {50% of the time}, but to have that gene, i think it must come with age or something?! i dunno, but i don't have it! it is stressful when my mom comes over, but i am so thankful when she whips the house in shape none the less!you look so cute with a pregnant belly and little evy is so precious in that picture!glad you wished your regret complex away, you are great at what you do!

  3. No regrets!! You are fabulous Amy! Jenni, I wonder the same thing sometimes- why does my mother have to come over and clean what I just cleaned??? I do not have the gene either, nor do I want it really. :)Love little Miss Evy- she looks like she is up to something in that picture. 🙂 xo

  4. Amen! I hear ya on the regret complex:) I feel the same way….a lot! I've actually had that feeling, more so about interior design since I've been doing that longer. The etsy thing is still new and I'm still learning. I'll watch HGTV and think, good grief! What are these people doing with their OWN show?!?! I could totally run circles around them. But that was then and this is now. I'm focusing on my fam and doing what you are doing….waiting. Not to be competitive but if you look at your sales and my sales, you have sold WAY more than me and with bigger priced items. That says a lot about your product! We started about the same. Don't be so hard on yourself! If I was doing more sales I would be buying more hoodies 😉 The hubby says I'm getting no where fast, lol! Summer hit and sales came to a screeching halt for me. It'll pick up, you'll see:)

  5. Okay, seriously! I couldn't even tell you were pregnant in that picture until I scrolled down and saw your belly – so not fair! Haha! I was sooooo swollen and fat it wasn't funny. My siblings couldn't even look at me without laughing – haha! Our sales slowed way down in June before we shut down for July. I am thinking that once fall hits though we are all going to go crazy when things get busy for the holidays on Etsy. I am so so so sorry about your friend that just went on to heaven. I will be praying for her family. That is so heartbreaking. The post you just wrote before this was was so beautiful and touching. Well, I am supposed to be working on updating my business cards and clearly am getting very sidetracked. Guess I had better get back to work! Haha!

  6. Amy! That Scripture was spot on! I love the way you're able to communicate and speak from your heart! Shane and I were just talking (after Brandon's message) how you both embrace your ministry and show your love and commitment for the youth group!

  7. ok, I'm dying over you guys and all your comments about the pregnancy. I will admit that with Evy I hardly gained any weight and looked pretty decent, even up till the end, TOTAL opposite of Jake! UGH…will never see pictures of that preganancy, especially since my face broke out really bad!?! Did anyone else have that problem while prego? Anyway, thank God I didn't have that when pregnant with Evy.Ok, Jenni DL…first of all, even if you were GIGANTIC while pregnant, look at you now!! I might have been tiny during pregnancy, but I still can't loose all my weight!!!! UGHGHGHGHGHG….so frustrating!And Prencie, my word, you were doing awesome!! Seriously, I thought you were doing great! I didn't know you felt you weren't doing good! About 3 weeks ago I hardly sold ANYTHING! I was kinda bummed! 😦 But its doing better,…must be why everyone does Christmas in July sales! :)Mel…thanks so much. That means the world to us. I will tell Brandon, that will make him feel great. Wasn't sure how the church took him on a Sunday morning, but Ithought he did good! 🙂 xoxo

  8. OK, so I have been absent from the blogging (joyfolie) world for a while now, and when I first scrolled onto your blog I thought you were pregnant NOW…and I thought holy moly how long have I been gone??? LOL! You are a wonderful woman who is truly an inspiration, I was having a rough day and thought it might be uplifting to read some of my favorite blogs and I found myself here…and I was right!Thank you!

Leave a Reply

