Food Friday- Barefoot Contessa's Gaucamole

Well, I have a confession….
I am just a glorified cookbook reader. It’s true. I have everyone fooled. People tell me all the time what a great cook I am, but they have no idea that I cheat and just follow recipes. One entire end of my island in my kitchen is filled with cookbooks and I have them stashed throughout the house as well. I read cookbooks for fun, like a novel, from front to back.
I know, I know, crazy.
But how can you not resist all the great ideas? And the cookbooks with pictures really get me. A cookbook, to really be a cookbook in my eyes, MUST have pictures. At least one every couple of pages or so. If the cookbook does not have pictures, you probably won’t find me reading it. What’s up with that? Can we say VISUAL LEARNER?!?
Anyway, one of my very favorite cookbooks is by one of my very fave cooks, Ina Garten, better known as Barefoot Contessa. My mom and I got addicted to her over 10 years ago when her first cookbook came out, The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook . If you do not own any of her cookbooks, I have to tell you, RUN out and buy some, especially her family style one, its FAB.
Soo….my Food Friday is highlighting THE BEST guacamole you will ever find. I hope this is legal to highlight a published recipe, but I figured since it is already on the internet courtesy of Food Network, I’m probably ok?!? Anyway, it is from Barefoot Contessa’s first book, but you can also find it online by clicking HERE.
Disclaimer on this demo: This was a little late night snack for our family. My mom took Evy this week to spend time with her and my Dad, so it was just the three of us. I had some ripe avocados and the boys asked for guacamole…so please excuse how dark and out of focus some of the pictures are. Brandon grabbed the camera and started snapping. Crazy thing is, the next morning I woke up to my friend SoShawna writing on my fb wall asking that I do this recipe for my next Food Friday? Seriously, I think that girl is psychic!!
Guacamole
4 ripe Haas avocados
3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice (1 lemon)
8 dashes hot pepper sauce
1/2 cup small-diced red onion (1 small onion)
1 large garlic clove, minced
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 medium tomato, seeded, and small-diced
 
Start by cutting the avocados in half, popping out the pit and scooping out the meat into a bowl
 
Sporting Evy’s Tree…of course!
Then add the lemon juice {quickly so the avocados don’t turn brown}
Add the hot sauce…but be careful its only 8 dashes or else it gets really tobasco-e {I know not a word}
Add the minced garlic, onion, salt and pepper. It looks like a lot of pepper, so don’t be alarmed! I’ve learned that Ina likes pepper! πŸ™‚ Oh and again, don’t try to scrimp by and use regular salt. That big box of kosher salt that you hopefully bought last time we discussed this will come in handy. It makes all the difference in the world. But if DO use regular salt {shame, shame} use half the amount.
Then taking a sharp knife use cutting motions and blend everything evenly together.
Cut tomato into quarters, de-seed and then cut into small cubes, adding them into the bowl. Then gently stir together.
At this point I usually put it into a nice decorative bowl and serve, but my little man couldn’t wait.
 
Side note: if you are from California {or anywhere that might sell them, I guess} and have access to Casa Sanchez chips…BUY THEM!! Trust me, you will not regret it. SOO yummy! The salsa is the bomb.com as well.
 
Anyway, we are HAPPY CAMPERS!
Enjoy and happy Friday!
PS…please remember the Klee family in your prayers. Today was Katrina’s funeral. Although we are all rejoicing that she is in a better place, her family is suffering, and it aches to see that. Lord, touch Tony, Timmy, Elisabeth, Jeff, Matthew, and Olivia tonight and give them peace in Jesus’ name!
xoxo
6 thoughts on “Food Friday- Barefoot Contessa's Gaucamole

  1. Wow this is more complicated than I thought…haha….Well I've been wanting to make your guac and now I can. THANK YOU! And you aren't supposed to TELL people that I'm psychic because it's my secret. Oh well… πŸ™‚

  2. Ok I am so making this one! I think it looks even better than Chipotles Guac!!I am the same way with recipes. Dont waste time with no pictures and dont you just hate it when people say…you just put this and that and then some of this???? um? very confusing…I need me some MEASUREMENTS lol . … Thanks for making this so simple for simple minded cooks like myself haha

  3. Nuh-uh!!! Red pepper sauce?? I've never thought of that but will add that for sure next time I do guac…oh, and Barefood Contessa is AMAZING! I don't have any of her cookbooks (next time I'm at your place I'm going to fish through your cookbooks btw), but I watch her show. The other day she made grilled pizzas and this CRAZY yummy lemon dessert that made me drool.

  4. I love barefoot contessa! Sometimes her recipes are a bit heavy for me but they've all got great bones, hah! I've never made my guac with hot sauce or lemon juice. I'll have to try that! I've also done lime juice with lots of lime zest, fresh garlic, lots of red onions and tomatoes with fresh ground pepper and salt. I've been tempted to try a new combo of mango and bacon but haven't gotten around to it yet!

Leave a Reply

