Where Have I Been?!?

I have no idea…
Seriously, the last week and a half has been so insane, I am wondering how I even made it through it all. No joke.
And along the crazy path that last week took me, it left me with absolutely NO SLEEP.In fact, the night before we left for St. Louis I got, get this, 45 minutes of sleep! ugh. Have you ever gone a whole week and a half with hardly any sleep? Well, if so, then you know that leaves you with a wonderful vulnerability for a cold, especially when you spend half that week flying.
Hence, my HORRIBLE sore throat that has not left me for a week.
Apparently, according to the dr, its from exhaustion.
Fabulous.
Anyway, I’m sure I have completely lost all my blog friends since I have had no time whatsoever to even read up on what everyone is doing, much less post anything. Sorry, dear friends. I’m still here, just a little brain dead. I hope you will forgive me.
{Jenni R, I’m dying to know…how’s that pool?!? Serioulsy, I have thought about it several times, haha}
So WHERE HAVE I BEEN?!? Since nobody probably even cares at this point {haha}, I doubt you will want to follow along with the VERY crazy week and my mass of pictures, but I figured {I know, I know, I say this all the time} that since this blog is for my precious kiddos, I figured I should at least journal it…even if I am so tired I won’t be able to edit all the pictures. Sorry everyone, raw photos here we come! 🙂
St. Louis
Thursday- Sunday, August 5- 8
Once a year, Brandon hops on a plane and goes to one of two youth conferences…The North American Youth Congress or The Commune-ity Meeting. Youth Congress is a giant youth conference {17,000+ students} that is located at different places every other year throughout America, and The Commune-ity is a smaller workshop based conference for youth workers and their wives. This year the Commune-ity was located in St. Louis and this year, I was able to attend with Brandon.
We had a great time. I already posted a Food Friday from St. Louis, if you haven’t seen it yet, you can click here. Seriously, I was impressed with the food…YUMMO!
But the best part about St. Louis is that we got to stay with Brandon’s cousin’s Brandy and Johnny and their little girl Katelynn. And even better was that Brandon’s other cousin Brooke, her husband, Jon and their little girl Maddie were also staying there! We had sooo much fun! Brandy and Brooke are from Stockton and were raised like Brandon’s sisters, so it was so good to see them. We stayed up super late, laughed, ate great food and just enjoyed seeing eachother.
And oh yeah, we also got to see the St. Louis arch…way cool!
We also had WAYYY too much fun at the museum under the arch. Seriously awesome place. Brandon and Johnny got a little carried away…
And precious Maddie and Katelynn…are they not the cutests babies on the planet? Jake misses his cousins so much! 😦
Brandon had the time of his life. He LOVES Museums and could live in them. He got a little out of control, however. He even asked a sweet little Amish family if they would let him video them. Their answer was “no”, of course. Sheesh Babe, why do you have to be so embarrassing?!?
And on Sunday, Brandon preached at Brandy and Brooke’s church, who is pastored by Darren Hudspeth. Super cool church and awesome service! Amazing spirit in their church!
{Yes, that’s Johnny’s big head in front of me! ha}
L.A. Fabric Trip
Wed – Friday, August 11-13
Well, if you have been following my blog at all, you will know that several months ago I started a little Etsy shop called Evy’s Tree. I sell embellished hoodies and tees for men, women and children. Most of my items are embellished with jersey knit of some kind which is almost IMPOSSIBLE to find. Believe it or not, I can pull my hair trying to find good material to use. When I do find something great, I buy every bit of it, and usually that’s not much, only enough to give me about 10 hoodies at the most per style.
So a couple months back, I realized that I could find a better selection of jersey knit material at a much better cost if I drove down to the Los Angeles garmet district. I talked my dear friend Monica into it coming with me and we decided that since our kids are starting school next week, this week would be the only time we could fit it in.
Oh boy. Am I crazy or what?!?
{Wait, don’t answer that one! ha}
So Wednesday afternoon we took off in my little volvo SUV and drove the 7 hr trip to L.A.
WE.HAD.A.BLAST.
Serioulsy, we had sooo much fun!! My friend Monique of La’ Monique Boutique {check out her facebook page, her stuff is DARLING} met us and took us around. She was so sweet to do that! If you love fabric and use a lot of it, I promise you will not be disappointed with the massive amounts of fabric you can find there. Like these piles that were, yes, all mine {ok, some was Monica’s too}…
I came to the conclusions that you have to be willing to handle stores that have gobs and gobs and bolts and bolts of material PACKED into their store to be able to do the L.A. garmet district. Material is literally bursting from the store doors…
And yes, everything is at a GREAT price…this place was the cheapest, although it was so packed I wasn’t able to get in there and get anything at that low $1 price!
This place was amazing. I can’t remember the name and I actually didn’t buy anything, but doesn’t this picture just make you so excited? Monica and I felt like we died and went to Trim Heaven!
We spent a total of SEVEN hours walking around, picking out fabric and searching. My car was PACKED to the gills! After we finished we drove like wild people to make it over to market night in Redlands where Monique’s boutique had a booth. We were late {thanks L.A. traffic!}, but we finally made it and met a bunch of very sweet new Evy’s Tree customers. Monique’s booth looked so cute too!
And on our way to Market Night, Monica reminded me that I needed to have something for Food Friday this week…so here’s my Food Friday:
Me eating a Panera Turkey Sandwhich on Country bread {which I thought was whole wheat…would NEVER had ordered white, ha} and driving down the I-10 in traffic at a snails pace to make it to Market Night:
And a wonderful Fun
nel Cake that Monica wanted….
…And I ate most of! 😦 Sheesh! They are so gross too, what in the world made me eat that thing?!?
Anyway, I think I gained like 10 lbs from this last week. Seriously, I have to start my diet back up again!
In closing….when I arrived home last night around 9 PM, this is what my car looked like:
Yes, it’s crazy. I thought about stopping by American Apparel to pick up a bunch of hoodies, but I realized that they would never fit in my car! Next time we are bringing the box for the top of my car, I could have used it!! 🙂
Whew…that’s it for me. I am super tired and my throat is about to explode from pain. I must get some rest! Tomorrow I will catch up with all your blogs.
Much love!
xoxo
7 thoughts on “Where Have I Been?!?

  1. Hey Amy! Its Jasmin! I am with you! No sleep! I have symptoms of the flu! TOTALLY WRONG TIMING WHEN YOU HAVE SO MUCH TO DO! Anyway, hope you feel better! =)

  2. Amy,I have missed you!! So glad you are back and back to a normal pace. Hopefully feeling much better now. WOW!!! That fabric store looked amazing and what a cute booth you both had at market. Your hoodies are my favorite and cannot wait to see the new hoodies in the works. xoxoxo

  3. oh amy, how i have missed you lady! and my pool will be finished on tuesday, ready to swim in on wednesday when it is all filled!!! beyond excited! they haven't really done anything to it for about a week, so i am patiently waiting! right now, the exciting part is the fireplace and bbq that are being built up right now and other parts to our backyard (pics are getting posted today…sometime)!looks like you both trips were a blast! can't wait to see everything that you create!

  4. Love you crazy fabric lady… =) Funnel cakes… seriously reminds me of the Youth Congress where CLC's booth was set up right next to the fryer. We both went home smelling like the state fair. Can't wait to see what comes out of Evy's Tree with all those bags!!

  5. Wowee looks like you had a crazy good time getting the fabric! I don't even sew but I love going into places stocked to the brim with gorgeous fabrics and trimmings, my brain comes up with all sorts of fun crafty ideas, if only my hands could pull off the projects! Hope you are able to start getting more sleep, remember, this too shall pass!

Leave a Reply

