Sam Hassas Photo Shoot

Holy Moly….did you know that the San Francisco Bay Area gets super hot?!?
Well, it does! 110 degrees to be exact. And it happens like one week out of the year. And that happened to be the week that my Fall 2010 photo shoot was scheduled.
Right.
A bunch of ladies, men and kids running around in hoodies, woolen socks, cowboy boots and the whole fall gamet, all while the were surrounded by a sauna heat wave so hot we all thought we were going to DIE. And did I mention one of my models is pregnant?
Yup. Misery.
And to top it all off, the shoot was at my parents house in the Wine Country, and they, get this…DON’T HAVE AIR CONDITIONING. Yes. It’s true. They never had. I lived my whole life without air. Outside of this one out of the year, you don’t really need it. In fact, when I moved to Stockton {where air conditioning is a MUST HAVE}, I didn’t even know how to turn it on. Sad, I know.
So anyway, there was absolutely NO PLACE to escape the heat. Except for my parent’s movie theater, which, thanks to the fact it is underground and has no windows, seems to remain somewhat cool. So the kids hid out in there while us adults braved it out.
But wow oh wow…what an incredible shoot! Seriously amazing. Despite the heat, and the stress, and the exhaustion from staying up four nights in a row to finish the hoodies, and the running around like a chickent with my head cut off during the shoot making sure everyone was dressed appropriately {I still hope everyone had the right outfits on!}, I HAD A BLAST! But I also learned a couple things:
1. Make sure you give yourself plenty of time to arrive to the location. Our models were coming from all over and I was driving the two hour drive from my house to my parents. Would you believe that in the 8 years I have lived in Stockton, I have only had a detour on the road to Santa Rosa about 3 times. Well guess what, there were TWO this trip. No joke. I about cried on the second one. We were an hour late. Next time, I am going to wherever it is and spending the night. ha.
2. Have plenty of water and snacks available. I had one giant gallon of bottled water. No enough. And the kids got hungry and since my mom is in Europe, the fridge was BARE. Not good. Next time, snack spread is a must. Especially for the parents of the kids who just sat there for 5 hours.
3. Hire an assistant. I WISH I had done this. I should have brought someone with me who could follow me around and execute all the orders made from my photographer and me. I did everything and ran around my parent’s property like a chicken with my head cut off. I didn’t even get to see much of what shots Sam got. I would get one person dressed, then move onto the next person. Then run them to the spot Sam was shooting at that moment. Then run back to the house. Then start again. Exhausting. And I just pray that the hoodies look ok in the pictures ’cause I can’t really tell you exactly how they looked when I put them on. HA. Oh boy.
But Sam, our photographer did such a great job, was such a good sport, tried a million great ideas and was such a crack up!
And my boy…he is such a darling. Bless his heart, in two heavy layers, long jeans and Uggs! Yikes. Can you see the sweat on his forehead?
And P.S…. yes, the Ronnie Hoodie will be back for both boys and Men in chocolate brown this fall. There will also be a couple new boys hoodies coming out next week sometime.
You can see a little more of the Wine Country rolling hills in this picture. Seriously, they are beautiful and will make such a wonderful background for the Fall Hoodies. To the left you can see part of the Kendall Jackson vineyards and my dad’s olive trees that Jake calls, “Gramp’s lollipops!” ha. It’s all just stunning.
And of course, my staple model, Kate, waiting for her turn to be shot. She is the one pregnant. She’s 3 months. You’d never guess. Seriously sickening. And that hoodie she is wearing, well you can’t see it very well in this picture, but it’s called The Olympia and it will be offered on Friday. Think The Anchor hoodie from Spring and you’ll get a good idea as what it looks like. I have to be honest and say its one of my faves. And I only have about 10 to offer.
Well, that’s is ALL the photos I caught. I meant to take pictures of the entire shoot, but I just couldn’t fit that in. So the last thing I learned:
4. Hire a photographer to take pictures of the photography. HAHA.
In closing…
I am HUMBLED beyond words that everyone who modeled for me drove the drive, endured the heat, went without food and worked so hard…all for no pay. They did it simply because they are my friends and believe in Evy’s Tree. In fact, when I put a call out for models on facebook, I got so many emails I was shocked. {I sent them all to Sam and he picked, by the way! :)} I am brought to tears when I think about it. When I arrived at my parent’s, one of my models brought her grandmother, who along with her husband pioneered an INCREDIBLE church in San Jose, CA. My heart was filled with gratitude that she was there. I felt it was God’s way of
smiling upon my little business, saying, “I believe in you enough to have elders in faith support you.”
If you believe in divine power, you know what I mean.
So I am so thankful. Because really, all we do is worth nothing if it isn’t filled with love. So thank you all my dear friends. Thank you for supporting me and believing in me. Thank you for working so hard to make Evy’s Tree successful. It means more than words to me.
And to those of you who purchase Evy’s Tree, thank you. I feel so honored you would love my items. Evy’s Tree would be nothing if it wasn’t for you.
Much love everyone!
xoxo
PS…check back later today for another fall sneak peek! 🙂
12 thoughts on “Sam Hassas Photo Shoot

  1. You are killing me with the teasers about this photo shoot. But yeah, it's gorgeous there and I miss living in the vineyard area…aaaaahhhh…. glad you learned all your 'lessons' and next time it will be an awesome photo shoot, don't worry! Love ya and can't wait to see the pics!!

  2. I agree – I cannot wait to see the pics! And haha – your photo shoot sounds just like ours! Basically we learned everything under the sun NOT to do for next time – haha! Loved reading about your experience and am so excited to see all the photos!

  3. LOVED reading this post and so excited to see the pictures! I am so proud of you and all of your success that Evy's Tree has brought to you and your family!Big hugs!

  4. I drop a comment just about every time I like a post on a site or if I’ve something to valuable to contribute to the conversation. It’s a result from the fire communicated in the submit I browsed. And after reading this short article I used to be really moved enough to drop a comment here

  5. Requirements plus adornment are an easy way to carryout a proclamation for prom dresses, considering the fact that you desire to end up being amore daring, from the not always overlooked. Happily forget about simple, dainty daisy important information and look for prom dresses that includes roses of enormous, delightful flora. Towel ,prom black dresses,flora and in addition peonies are considered a great deal relating to the catwalks in recent months, therefore , dive right in together with sign up the trend. The bigger the more beneficial. Prom dresses together with bright diamante along with gleaming sequin ornaments may possibly merely sparkle for a hunt.

  6. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  7. Aw, this was a very nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this moreover � taking time and precise effort to make an excellent article however what can I say I procrastinate alot and under no circumstances appear to get one thing done.

Leave a Reply

