….What Am I Doing?

Has it really been two weeks since I last posted?
UGH.
The last couple weeks have been so insane. They leave me wondering, where in the world is my head and more more importantly…
What am I doing?!?
See, I have been so busy. I wish I could explain what “so busy” means. I think its easier to just say that than explain. I’m sure people wonder what in the world it is that I really DO do during the days?
Well, to be honest, its a lot of email returning, preparing spreadsheets for my sewing team, ordering supplies, driving supplies across town to sewing team members, etsy relisting, designing {if I’m lucky} and then lots of needs tended to by my kids who seem to interrupt me every 10 mins. That last part makes a 3 hour day stretch into 6 hours.
But really, it doesn’t matter what I do. Because it means nothing.
What DOES mean something are all the really, truly, important things I have missed in life.

To my dear friend who is having an IVF procedure done this week…I’m sorry I haven’t been there for you. I will call you tomorrow. I am praying for you. I know God has it all under control.

To my other dear friend who found out she has gestational diabetes…yeah. I’m a loser. I know. I had to find out about it through facebook. Very sad and depressing. But think of how skinny you’ll be by the time this is all over! ha.

To my sister who I haven’t called in days and days. I love you. Don’t hate me. I promise I am still here.

To my husband whose 30th birthday is coming up this Friday: I haven’t forgotten. Even though you think I have. I love you so much. You make me smile. And you’re pretty much the most handsome man alive.

Photo by good friend, Scott Andrew Photography



Anyway, enough of that.

So where have I been? Well, I’ve been to our church’s ladies retreat where I had an Evy’s Tree booth. It was super fun, I stayed with two wonderful friends and we stayed up until we were cross eyed and reminisced. There is something so wonderful about good friends. My booth also looked really cute too, thanks to my dad building a great little rack for me, my husband making me an adorable sign and my most exciting thing about the package was those darling little owls from the the etsy shop aprilfoss.

Please excuse these horrible pictures…first these were taken at night with hardly any light and we weren’t exactly finished setting up, but second, I CAN’T FIGURE OUT HOW TO USE MY MAC’S PHOTOSHOP!!! whew…just when I thought my mac and I became friends. 😦

I shared my booth with my dear, dear friend Monica. The one who makes all the brooches for my hoodies. She is AWESOME. If you like her stuff, check out her shop The Mrs. Darcy.

The rack my dad worked very extra hard on!!

Then the next weekend Brandon and I flew to Madison Wisconsin to take part in Brian and Sarah’s wedding. Brian is Brandon’s cousin and is such a great guy. He works with us on our youth staff and Sarah is such a sweetie. Since Sarah is from Madison the wedding was there, and boy was it fun! Brandon helped with the officiating and the entire wedding was just stunning. For the first time in probably over a year I attended the wedding with a, get this, PURSE instead of my diaper bag. Yup you heard me right. I took my cute little black DKNY handbag that I bought while I was working for Donna Karan in college. It is about the size of wallet. I was so proud of myself that I managed to fit everything in it when while we were walking out of the door of the hotel to the wedding I gasped…

“Where am I going to put my camera?!?”
Yeah.

So basically, since my husband was unwilling to carry the camera and I was unwilling to give up my one night with no kids and no giant bag in tow, I got no pictures. 😦 I actually regret it a bit now, but my dear friend Kate had her tiny camera and as soon as she can find the cord she has promised me pictures. So hurry up dear Kate with that cord.

I have no pictures, but what I do have is this.

That is a jar of Strawberry Raspberry Jam made by Sarah’s Grandma Jo and I have that jam because THAT was the wedding favor. Is that not cool or what? Seriously, the wedding was INCREDIBLE, and did I mention it was at the beautiful University of Wisconsin, Madison? Such a gorgeous historic place. Anyway, the jam went to good use on my toast the first morning we were back. I LOVE jam! Thank you Brian and Sarah, it was such a SPECIAL gift!

Ok, and before I move on from the Wisconsin trip…I have to tell you all one thing:
I got left in Denver.
Yes, that is true. I was stranded in the Denver airport for over 5 hours ALL BY MYSELF. The short story is United oversold our flight to Madison and Brandon and I got bumped. I was madder than a hornet and seriously could have taken someone out but I refrained.
Anyway, they managed to get Brandon on a flight to Milwaukee, but they only had one seat, so he jumped on the flight, rented a car and drove like a maniac to be at the rehearsal dinner on Friday.

I missed the rehearsal and had the privilege of wandering the Denver In
ternational Airport for FIVE FULL HOURS. Thankfully they have good shopping in that airport and I bought lots of junk I didn’t need. I also spent a good hour of that time sitting in the Brookstone chair and talking to the sales associate.

Hopefully you can hear the frustration in my voice.
Needless to say United felt very sorry for me and gave us $800 in travel vouchers and we flew home first class. I guess I can forgive them. SIGH.

Ok, last but not least. Jake and Evy.

They have started washing eachother’s hair in the bath. It is BEYOND cute. I just adore it.
And my little man…

He woke up the other morn and had dressed himself {in that horrid skull tee that I HATE and keep trying to give away, but somehow it always ends up back in his drawer} and came into our room with his suitcase all packed {with toys of course}, his blocks ready to go and his lunchpail {also packed with toys}.  He woke us up and said, “Ok, I’m ready to go to Auntie Pammy’s house. Can you call her and tell her I’m coming?” When I asked him how he was was getting there he informed me, “You are taking me to the airport and I am getting on a big plane and Auntie Pammy will pick me up.”

Apparently the two hour drive to my sisters warrants a “big plane”. Hmmm…
I did call my sister and tell her to look for a little boy with bags full of toys on her doorstep soon. πŸ™‚

But here’s the the funny part…

He is REALLY into a backwards stage. Where he feels everything must go on backwards. This morning he put his jeans on backwards and stuck his sword through the loop. I think he felt it was appropriate for his costume, although what exactly he was supposed to be I have NO IDEA?!? Ha.
He even put his undies on backwards!! haha. Yes, this is the front view….

And the back view! ha.

Seriously, this kid is a crack up!!
Ok, I’m sorry this post is getting so long, but if you have read my blog at all, you probably know I am famous for that, so why break the record now…but I wanted to just share with you one picture from my Evy’s Tree photo shoot. It’s of my family and I LOVE it. Although you can’t see our faces, I just really love the whole feel of it. What do you think?

If you want to see the rest of the pictures from the shoot, click HERE

And in closing, I just want to leave with you a Scripture that has been crossing through my mind constantly the last couple of weeks. Mainly because I feel SO TIRED and SO OVERWORKED and wondering how in the world I can keep going and do all that I need to do….It helps me remember that the Lord is here holding my hand. That HE is charge. That this crazy life is HIS purpose for me {at least for now :)}. Thank you Lord for promising to finish the work for me. It helps me breathe a little sigh of relief that I am not doing this on my own.


“Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ” Philippians 1:6

Love you all!!
xoxo

P.S. Just wanted you all to know that this post took me THREE WHOLE DAYS to complete. No joke. I blame my Mac. And my life. But mainly my Mac. πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “….What Am I Doing?

  1. Happy birthday to the Man. Hope you are enjoying being back home. Welcome back to the blogosphere. We're in Houston for Conference. Are you coming? Safe journeys if you are and safe journeys if you aren't. It's a good life living for the Lord, ain't it? (Pardon my Anglish.)

  2. Great post Amy! I know life gets crazy but really your a great mother, friend & every other title you hold. Love the family picture, one of my favorites by far! Its awesome. Book cover for sure! xoxo.

  3. I LOVE that picture, in fact – I think it needs to be your new blog header!!!! It is absolutely stunning! If not your header, it needs to be blown up and put on a big giant canvas and hung somewhere in your house! Ugh, words cannot describe how beautiful it is in my book!I love your posts, you are such a busy lady! Your kiddos in the bathtub are so cute and your little man with his clothes on backwards, he is a crackup!Happy Birthday coming up to the hubs!

  4. Here I am again. I have had your fam photo in my brain since I first saw it the other day. It's absolutely… too emotional for words.Also, when each of my girls turned six, I hosted a "Backward Upside Down Party." They still remember that. Everyone wore their clothes backward, plus all the party elements were upside down or backward. For example, we opened gifts first, and ate the cake under the table. We played games last and said hello when the guests walked out the door. So cheap, so fun.

Leave a Reply

