Food Friday- Dinner in a Pumpkin

I really thought no one noticed that I haven’t done a Food Friday in oh…about 4 weeks, or maybe more? But apparently there are people out there who actually read this blog because in one day alone I got two facebook comments asking where my Food Friday went? And then I’ve had several emails….Well, anyway, I haven’t done one in a really, really long time. My excuse? I have been SO VERY BUSY and am ashamed to say that I haven’t even really cooked much lately unless it SUPER easy and fast, fast, fast. Otherwise its been fast food….in the form of In-n-Out or salads from Panera. And I’m sure none of you are really interested in all that junk!
And yes, that is probably attributing my lack of weight loss, thanks for pointing that out. ha.
{and I did lose one pound. Then I gained it back. Ugh. I’m hitting the treadmill right after this, I am SO SICK of this weight!}
If you have been following this blog since last year you will probably remember this one. It’s a family tradition for us now and if you haven’t done it yet, I promise you will love it. It’s not that gourmet but its just so festive and the cool factor is really the plus here. Trust me you will make everyone oooh and ahh when you pull it out of the oven! πŸ™‚ We had a little dinner party last night for 8 adults and 3 kids and everyone was surprised at how good it was.  I doubled the recipe which I should NOT have done. Trust me this makes a lot!
I had several people email me and ask for a step by step…so here you go. And yes, I did change a couple things from last year.
Dinner in a Pumpkin

1 1/4 lb ground beef
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 onion, chopped
1 C. uncooked rice
4 Tb butter
1 tea. salt {add more to taste}
1/2 tea. pepper {add more to taste}
1/4 tea. crushed thyme
1 large can of tomatoes, with liquid {I prefer chopped}
2 small cans of beef broth
1/2 C- 1 C. grated cheddar cheese

1 pumpkin, seeded and cleaned. {My pumpkin measured 12″ from top to bottom, not including stem and was wide since I doubled the recipe} 


Excited kids are a must…


Hire a nice young man to clean, gut and prepare the pumpkin….don’t forget to have him spray your kids while cleaning the pumpkin, ha!

Curious little Evy LOVED it.

Preheat oven to 350. Cook onions and garlic in butter on med heat until translucent. Add seasonings.

My husband really felt it was my duty to share with you how messy my drawers are. So in tribute to all you unorganized folk out there like me….

ANYWAY…Add beef, cook until brown {browner than this}


Wash rice, then add it and the remaining ingredients to the mixture, except cheese. 

Cook mixture over med – med/high heat until rice is done {about 15-20 mins}. Season with extra salt and pepper if needed. Pour mixture into cleaned pumpkin. 


This year I cooked with the top on. I added a bit of tinfoil to the top so the stem wouldn’t burn. Cook for 1 1/2 hrs.  
And again, hire somebody to lift it into the oven because it will be HEAVY!

Sprinkle cheese on top of mixture last 10 mins of cooking. Pumpkin should be soft, fork should prick easily through meat of pumpkin when tested.

And a little note….I actually cooked this on 375 because I was late and I had a bigger pumpkin than usual…BIG MISTAKE! the pumpkin almost collapsed. ha. You live and learn I guess! πŸ™‚

Unfortunately this year my son was not too crazy about it for some reason?!? He loved it last year, so what changed who knows, but this was the look we got most of the night.
And Evy, well….we had to pry it off her face. Pretty typical for her and food! ha.
And because I was so busy being hostess I forgot to get pictures of my guests. The only picture we got was this….
Little Jude Rivas and Evy. It was late and WAY past their bedtime, but they were so cute playing in the book pile and reading to each other. I love it!
Hopefully you all get to cook your pumpkin this year!
xoxo

7 thoughts on “Food Friday- Dinner in a Pumpkin

  1. I do remember this from last year, yes I do!!! I am not brave enough to try, although we will be carving our pumpkins tonight for the seeds! looks delicious!and is that alisha's jude? he is a doll, girlfriend needs a blog! if not, he is still handsome!kiddos looks so cute checkin' out the pumpkin!

  2. Amy, I was just thinking that I wanted to do this!! You are wonderful my sweet friend. You still find the time to cook fabulous meals and all. Just amazing. Hugs and kisses.P.S. Thanks for the step by step photos. Loved them and they are so handy for dingbats like me that need clear cut instructions. :)Heidi Jean

  3. So going to try this recipe!! Thanks for sharing it!!. Your kiddos are beautiful Amy! Love to see the kiddos pics, and Jude!! Alisha- he is so handsome!! xo

  4. Thanks again for having us over Thursday, dinner was incredible as always πŸ™‚ and Jude had so much fun with Jake and Evy.And next "Food Friday" I think you should post your homemade pie crust recipe :)Love you!Thank you Jenni and Mande for your sweet words about Jude πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

