Preschool Thoughts

Ok, how much cuter can you get than this preschool picture?!
Seriously, is he not a stud?
We have Jake enrolled in a preschool program for 3-4 year olds and we LOVE it! It’s a Christian program, he goes Tuesday and Thursday mornings and he is learning so much. I can’t tell you how quick he is understanding…he can identify all his letters, knows most of their sounds and can count to 11. I’m SHOCKED. As a teacher, I know that is tough.
He really loves learning and I love that. 
Although, I have to admit, it was really hard to get him to like school. 😦 The first day he loved it and didn’t cry at all, but the second and third, oh wow. He clung to my legs and the teacher literally had to pry him off me. I think I cried harder than he did, not because I was going to miss him but because I was DESPERATE for him to like school, and lets be honest, I needed a break. 
But on the 4th day, he adjusted and liked it thank God. No more crying.
Well, that made me encouraged. You see, I work 50+ hours a week. I walk around with my computer glued to my fingers and I sleep with my Blackberry. I try to condense all my work into specific hours, but with kids, that is very hard. A normal 5 hour day is a 5 hour interrupted day which really translates into 10 hours long with all the interruptions. Don’t get me wrong, not that I mind AT ALL helping my kiddos, but I do feel very bad that I am always saying, “I’ll be there in a minute” while I frantically try to return an email in about 10 seconds. And quite frankly, I don’t have time to take the kids to the park, play games etc, and I feel that Jake is getting VERY bored at home.
So pretty close after we found out Jake actually liked school, we put him on the waiting list to go to his preschool 5 mornings a week. {Evy goes to the baby sitters Tues, Wed and Thurs mornings} But that has been 3 months ago and still no hopes of an opening. It’s a very popular school. 
So our church school has a K-4 class and the teacher is wonderful and a very good friend of Brandon’s mom. She and the principal graciously allowed Jake to attend the class Monday, Wednesday and Friday. His first day was last Friday. We got him all excited and bought him the new uniform. He was so thrilled to wear the uniform that he wouldn’t even put on a hoodie and braved the 60 degree weather with just the school tee. I thought for sure he was going to love it.
But on Monday, well, not so much luck. He woke up saying he didn’t want to go and it took me a whole hour and half to get him ready for school. Once we got there he cried and cried. I left him there hoping it would wear off, but at about 1:30 he was inconsolable. The teacher called me and I came and got him. His words through the tears?
“Mommy, I’m not having fun there!”
Ugh. If that doesn’t break your heart then I don’t know what will.
So here is where I think we went wrong:
1. The K-4 class is for 4 year olds. Jake is 3. Yeah, not emotionally ready.
2. Brandon was in Canada last weekend speaking at a youth retreat. He had been gone since Thursday. Jake was really missing him.
3. Jake has the remnants of a cold. Can we say cranky?
So why in the world did I not think of all these things? When I picked Brandon up from the airport on Monday I told him I was a bad mom and should have waited until Brandon was home and Jake felt better to try the church school. Jake kept saying how much he 
didn’t want to go to school and now I felt like maybe I ruined his school tenure all together! oh boy.
So Tuesday came along and we were back to normal, Brandon dropped him off in the morning and he did great. But when I picked him up the teacher told me he broke down and started crying in the middle of the morning. He got over it, but when I picked him he said he didn’t want to go anymore {even though he was obviously having the time of his life}.
WHY IS PARENTING SO DIFFICULT?!? 
So now I feel like poop and am freaked out that Jake won’t want to go back to school?
WHAT TO DO? Luckily he doesn’t have school on Thursday so we are going to spend the next couple days nursing his cold, spending time together and enjoying our family. 
But will he ever like school again??? 
Oh boy. Has anyone ever gone through this?
All this school talk has made me realize I never showed you first day of school pictures. I am sooo behind!! ugh. Here they are….
School started on Tuesday, but on Monday there was preview day. Mumsy and Gramps came with us. Gramps walking with Jake.
Taking a picture with his teacher Miss Becky. She is so sweet. Jake was so excited about the bug table. 

On Tuesday, the kids packed in the car ready to go. Evy on her way to spend the morning with Ashley her babysitter. 
Getting out of the car at preschool.
Waiting for the door to be opened.

Signing in
Jake’s backpack peg
His lunchpail on his class shelf
Standing by his backpack
Excitedly waiting for the classroom doors to open
Jake’s first picture of Daddy
The boys. 

Finding a new friend
Showing off his name tag
Love this kid
Us

This is the “Mommy please let me go” pose
So what do you think, will Jake ever like preschool again?!? 
xoxo
ok sorry one more random pic…found this on the camera. This morning Brandon had them. Love their matching tops and random sweatpants {Jenni, do these look familiar?!?}
Love these kids. Ok xoxo for reals now. ha.
4 thoughts on “Preschool Thoughts

  1. He does indeed look like a stud! Haha- that first picture is way too cute! And I have no advice on school seeing how I haven't had to battle that yet….although seeing how I feel like Lillie is a mini Jake when I read many of your stories I think I may have that in the future – ahhh!

  2. I cannot stop cracking up….Jake, 3 years old sporting the "pop ya colla" look. LOL Seriously though, I can relate to your child fearing school. I tried to send Harrison to a program and he had just turned 3. His 1st day- fabulous….the next time he went, it was awful. He cried all day. The teachers called me to come get him 3/4 of the day in on the 3rd day. He told me he did not like it there. We tried 2 more times. I pulled him out when his class picture came back and his eyes were swollen from crying. That did it for me. We waited until the fall to enroll him in a different school and he loved it. Maybe you will get a break and get him in to the school he loves 5 days a week. I am praying for you Amy.

  3. Aw, that's so rough! I'm having a time with my son and kindergarten and it has NOT been fun! Will be praying for Jake. Say a prayer for Indigo, please. :)Your kids are so stinkin' cute. Absolutely adorable.

  4. he is too cute! i have no words of advice, i have been blessed with a son who really loves school! i am sure that it had something to do with going to daycare full time when chad and i had to go to work!you have to go with what you think is best for him and if that means waiting to get into the school that is 5 days a week, then wait! if this school that he has an opportunity to go to now is important and a great school, let him get used to it? i don't think i would then pull him to go to a different one if that spot opens up, might be too confusing for him?! see, i really have no clue! good luck, i hope the next try goes better!ps-glad lola's clothes are getting put to good use!

Leave a Reply

