Happy Thanksgiving!

I have been thinking about my childhood a lot lately. I’m sure it has something to do with the fact that I have kids and I am taking a really good look at our holiday traditions {or lack of, ha} that our family currently holds. 
 I’m not sure if I have mentioned this before but my mom, her older brother and her parents immigrated from England when she was 12 years old. My grandfather’s family had lived in the same town, Wolverhampton, for over 500 years, so you can imagine the huge shock it was when my mom’s parents decided to come to America. It definitely was a better life for them, but the one thing lacking was family, as all the family was still in England or Wales {my grandmother was Welsh}. As my mom got older and got married, my grandparents and Uncle moved to Oregon {weather more like “home”} and my mom was here in California by herself.
Because of this, we spent most of our holidays with my dad’s parents. My dad is an only child, born and raised in Burlingame, a suburb of San Francisco. My grandparents were members at The Peninsula Golf and Country Club up until their death and I have many, many fond memories of holidays at their club. The club would have the most amazing Thanksgiving dinners. The food was to die for and the desserts…oh wow. I remember those still. They had the most incredible custard dishes…yummo! And then after dinner they opened up their beautiful ballroom and my siblings and I would take turns spinning our Nannie and Gramps around the dance floor. 
Great memories!
For the last couple years, Brandon’s parents have been out of town for Thanksgiving and my parents have been with us. My parents, probably due to the many years at the club, prefer to go out for Thanksgiving, so this year, as we did last year, we went to Wine and Roses for their Thanksgiving Buffet. 
OH WOW. Was it good!
And it has made me think so much about my childhood. As I watched my kids run around the ballroom like I did, I smile. I know they have many fond memories of Wine and Roses like I did about the Club. When people act shocked that we eat out for Thanksgiving, I laugh. Probably because its MY norm, I guess its not a big deal to me. In fact, I actually enjoy it. No cooking for days, no clean up, no leftovers upon leftovers {which I sometimes do miss!}… Do I have any blogging friends that go out for Thanksgiving or do you all stay home and cook?
So here are some pictures from our day yesterday, hope you enjoy them.
Us arriving to W&R’s. Wish we had taken some pictures of the outside. It is sooo beautiful there!

And my boy. He’s such a ham {in need of a haircut too, ha!}. Anyway, my parents brought the kids toys when they arrived. Evy got that Groovy Girl and Jake that car, which you will hear more about throughout this post. ha.

Chowing down on bread while we get them their plates….

And my boy, could he ever make a normal face??
And then we tried to have Jake take a picture with Mumsy and of course, I say smile and this is what I get…hmm

Our plates of food. Seriously delish…
A bad picture of the ballroom and food area

And my dad’s plate{s}. I know I’ve said it before, but he has the metabolism of a teenager!
Me and my man, we are both so stuffed we can hardly smile. ha! Notice the little fruit custard tarts. I promise UNBELIEVABLE!! And notice my double chin…??? right. ha.
And the dessert room
Jake getting to pick out his dessert. Even though he didn’t eat dinner. oh boy.

Can we say chocolate overload?
Evy with her dessert. It’s custard. Yes, she’s my child.

Lots of hugs and kisses to go around throughout the night

And remember that car I talked about in the beginning…well it comes apart. Yes. You heard me. Lots of pieces. And they were lined up nice and neat under the table…
And dropped all over the floor, with tires rolling under the neighbor’s table, and the waiters having to crawl on their hands and knees to find the wheels. Right. Lots of fun.
And then of course we attempt the family picture in front of the fireplace {where Brandon and I sat at our wedding reception}, but it seems like a whole new ballgame every year…

I guess this one will have to do. Evy’s dress is made by my good friend Monique of La’Monique Boutique, by the way. LOVE IT!

And then this morning we are all gradually waking up after such a fun evening. {I went to bed at 2am thanks to Evy’s Tree Black Friday Sale at midnight. Good Lord, that killed me! ha}
And Evy Love…someone please help us out. All morning we have been contemplating what color her eyes are?!? Sometimes they look grey, sometimes hazel, sometimes even a green or light brown. Help! Any suggestions? We feel so bad calling them random colors! ha.

Anyway, every year I think about how blessed I am. How I am so thankful to the Lord for allowing me one more year with my family. I know I say this every year, but so many friends have lost loved ones this year and it just makes me so thankful that my family is still, by the grace of God, together. What a blessing!
“In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you..” I Thes 5:18
This verse has meant so much to me lately. NO MATTER WHAT you are going through or where you are in life, everything deserves thanks. So thank you Lord for such a wonderful and blessed life. I love you so much and I hope that the Miraflor family brings praise to you.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!
xoxo
3 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Sounds like you had a mahvelously blessed day, dahling! I'm watching the sun set breathtakingly on Ohio, en route to Columbus after leaving Connecticut this morning. Hope you survived Black Friday. I've had my MOB notebook, pencil and sketch paper out all day long. It's been fun!xo

  2. oh that dinner looked so fabulous! wow! i remember you guys going there last year too!the pics of your kiddos are precious and you and the hubs look amazing (double chin where? puh-lease! i will show you a double chin)!we spent thanksgiving at chad's aunt and uncle's house! we were in charge of a veggie tray and dessert! easy! happy turkey day!

Leave a Reply

