Christmas Cards

So this is going to be quick and pictureless imagine that! ha…
But I am sitting here staring at my very large box of Christmas cards that I lugged all the way to our family vacation in L.A. last week to fill out during the car ride…which never happened. So I am determined to get these addressed and off by Monday. Tonight will be a late night-er, filled with hot cocoa, Christmas music and writers cramp. ha.
My Christmas card is ALWAYS a nice card with a picture of my family attached to the top cover. Whichever picture we pick to use as our Christmas card picture dictates whatever card I purchase. We send out {please don’t faint} about 225-250 cards each year. Blame it on Brandon’s GIANT family. So whatever card we pick needs to be cost efficient as well as attractive.

Target has these great boxes of 40 cards for $14 which is even better than Costco’s boxed card selection. But this year I noticed that Target had VERY little to choose from. And the fact that our picture is horizontal instead of vertical really made it harder as it seems that most of the pretty Christmas cards out there are vertical.

SOOO… my point:

For years Brandon has begged me to upload my photos and get photo cards. Call me an old timer, but I just object to that. I guess a Christmas card to me is a “card”. Don’t get me wrong, I love to receive the photo cards, they are so cute and I put them up on my fridge proudly. But I just LOVE cards. And I can’t tell you how many houses we have visited and people have taken our picture off the card and framed it or still have it up on their fridge sans card. I guess I kinda consider the picture a little gift to all those we love. And I really love being able to sign a nice personal message as well. {Never mind that last year I mixed so many people’s up. I kept getting calls like, “Thank you for the Christmas card, even though it was addressed to so and so” ha.}

But this year, oh wow. The photo cards we have been receiving are UNBELIEVABLE!! My friend Jenni {who’s card was outstanding!} shared Shutterfly with us on her blog and it was very tempting. But I had already bought the cards and got the pictures printed. 😦 And have you seen Robert and Cheyennes?? Seriously amazing. And our friends the Rivas…spectacular card!

So I can’t believe I am saying this, but it looks like this will be the last year for the Miraflor traditional Christmas card. My poor hand just can’t really keep up with the personal comments, and besides it looks like everyone else likes the photo card instead.

Am I right? Speak now or forever hold your peace! ha. I am very interested in your thoughts…photo card or traditional card?
xoxo

3 thoughts on “Christmas Cards

  1. Thank you for the compliment on the card choice, the hubs wasn't big on the non-traditional Christmas colors, but the second I saw it I knew it was "The One"! PHOTO CARD has my vote, obviously! But, I do love personalized card too and wish that I had time to send those out, but with teaching and photography at its busiest time of the year (everyone and their mothers want holiday photos last minute) it just isn't possible! We send out over a hundred and I feel you on the hand hurting thing, so that is my solution! Plus, most who know and love me follow my blog and check up on the family each day!Can't wait to see what you put together! LOVE the picture that you chose!

  2. Love photo cards- they get my vote…. and this year we had to cut back. Makes me a little sad because I really enjoy sending and receiving holiday cards. Cannot wait to see what you put together on here. πŸ™‚ Merry Christmas to you and yours Amy. xoxo

  3. I love traditional cards…maybe because I've never had a family and couldn't very well send out pics of myself at Christmas. πŸ™‚ BUT, this year, so excited because I was going to do the photo card thing…so I made mine and had them printed and then found out no one had envelopes left because I did them yesterday! SO, I did pretty cards with the picture enclosed. The best of both worlds…

Leave a Reply

