Best Day Ever!

I had the most amazing day.
It started at 3 AM. 
No joke. 
At 3 AM, Brandon and I finally finished MOST of our 250 Christmas cards! I say most because tonight I found one more page of labels I had left out, so those will be in the mail tomorrow! ugh.
Anyway, at 3 AM we fell lifeless into bed.
At 3:38 AM, unbeknownst to me, my phone started ringing. I was so tired that I never heard it. My home phone and my cell phone rang off the hook for 3 hours while the entire family slept comatose. When our alarm went off at 7 I checked my phone and I saw all the missed calls and received this text message:
“I’m going to the hospital…please come and call me when you can.”
It was from my dear friend Joy. You might remember this picture from this post:
The couple on the right are our very good friends Joy and Thaddeus with us at our wedding. Joy and Brandon went to school together from grade school on and Joy and I have been close friends for almost 10 years. In fact for one year we lived together in a cute little apartment with my 19 year old cat Baby…which created many wonderful stories  that I should blog about sometime {ahem beware Thaddeus, Brandon, and Glenn}.
Anyway, Joy is pregnant with her second child, a little girl. And she is due the last week of December. Joy asked me if I would be in the room when the baby was born and be a support to her and Thaddeus. I was soo very honored, but bummed as Brandon and I are supposed to be in L.A. that week for this conference.  I told Joy that she needed to go into labor on December 21 so I could be there.
And guess what?!? The baby listened!!
I was able to throw some clothes on, get Brandon’s mom to come over, and drive the hour and a half to the city to be with Joy when the baby was born.
It was by far the most amazing experience EVER!!
Even though I have given birth to two kids, and have been the labor and delivery room with many women, I have never actually seen with my own eyes a baby being born. If you have, then you know the miracle it is. SO AMAZING. I cried. It was beautiful.
Welcome Chloe Grace!!

 Proud Daddy and his princess…
Such a beautiful moment. Snuggling with her baby. The picture brings tears to my eyes. 
Thank you Joy and Thaddeus for asking me to be with you today. It was a beautiful day, one I will never forget. Love you guys so much!!

And then….

I drove home as fast as I could because I had a date with this:
Christmas Sugar Cookies!!!
Jake and I had planned to make my Nannie’s Sugar cookies today and he wanted his cousin Scout to come over and help him. So the plan was to start baking around 4…well, since I was still in the city, Grandma, Auntie Bryony and the kids baked them without me and when I walked in the door we whipped up the frosting and got busy. Here is what you will need to make my Nannie’s amazing Sugar Cookies:
Thelma Schuster’s Sugar Cookies
Apparently Thelma is some distant cousin?!? Forgot to ask Nannie! ugh.

1 C. Unsalted butter – room temp
1 C. Sugar
Combine above together, beating well.

1 egg
5 Tablespoons of milk
1 teas of vanilla
mix together in separate bowl.

3 C. All purpose flour
1 teas baking soda
1/2 teas salt
mix together in separate bowl.
Blend all ingredients together until smooth. Put ball of dough in saran wrap and place in refrigerator for several hours or overnight. Cut into shapes and cook at 350 for 6 mins until very lightly brown. I cut mine at about 1/4″ thick.
WATCH CAREFULLY. They burn easily.
Frosting

Two boxes of powdered Sugar
Milk
Food Coloring

Start with this:
Then make the frosting by mixing coloring, sugar and milk until you get a nice thick texture. 

You don’t want it to be too runny, as Bryony is demonstrating. It will never dry on the cookies and fall right off the dough.
Our colors:
Excited kids are a must:

Start decorating…
Grandma’s turned out awesome!

Sugar Highs

Some of the first finished products:

And some more….
I put the cookies in a tin, covered in saran wrap, into the freezer and save these for Christmas Day. They are so much fun to pull out and remember who made who. And I promise you, they might look a little scary, but they are SO SO GOOD!! 
Even my resident blog photographer {that would be my brother in law David} said they were awesome. I believe his words were something like, “This frosting is so good I drink it!” ha.
Thank you to my family and my dear friends fro making this day a day to remember!! Love you all!!

6 thoughts on “Best Day Ever!

  1. What an awesome experience Amy!! Congratulations to your friends on the birth of their baby girl. Going to try your recipe next week. I am planning to bake some New Year's sugar cookies. Cannot wait! Merry Christmas! xoxo

  2. How exciting! Congratulations to Thaddeus and Joy on their beautiful new baby girl!!! (Anthony and I are in complete shock because we didn't even know they were expecting!) What a wonderful Christmas surprise. 🙂

  3. Aren't the best days ever, well…THE BEST! Glad you got to have one of those amidst all of this crazy Christmas madness! I battled the mall and stores for last minute shopping (first chance I have had to step foot anywhere b/c of how busy my schedule has been)! What an experience you had! I am glad that you made it on time to see that beautiful baby girl being born!And the kids making those sugar cookies! Love their excitement! Might have to tackle this recipe and do with my kids today!

  4. How amazing, congratulations to your friends ❤ I had a home birth and had a couple friends here when I had Harlow and they were all in tears when she was born. Can't wait to try these cookies with the kids, I usually just buy the sugar cookie roll…LOL!

  5. Aww, congratulations Joy and Thaddeus. Chloe is beautiful!Love the pics of the kids making cookies, it looks like they had a blast 🙂

  6. Isn't it amazing? I was there for the birth of my friend's son in August and it was beyond incredible. Congrats to your friend, and (late) Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

