Divine Appointments and Favoritism

Hi guys, it’s Sunday, and I’m not at church. I haven’t been feeling great today, so I stayed home and in my PJ’s, snuggled under the covers with my Bible and a pen. Been reading and praying…and you know, I love these moments. I’m always in awe how God can visit you ANYTIME or ANYPLACE. He is as close as the mention of His name. I love, love that!

Yesterday we visited my in law’s for our new baby Levi’s baby shower and baby dedication. It was a beautiful day. So much love and joy surrounding this little guy. Evy adores him! She calls him “her baby”…even though it’s her cousin. She kept telling my sister in law that she will baby sit him one day. ha. Love that girl. She also ADORES Uncle David’s photo booth. Seriously, that girl gets in there, pushes the button and poses continually. I hopped in there with her once.

Since much of the family was at the shower, Bryony and David decided that it would be the perfect time to dedicate Levi to the Lord. Brandon did a quick ceremony and it was very sweet and touching.

I’ve never been at a baby dedication in a home before, but it was wonderful and I think it should be done more often! After Brandon’s words, all the family and Bryony and David’s friends gathered around and prayed for the Sowers family. So precious!

You know, as I watched all the loved ones of Levi gathering around and praying, I started thinking about friendships. And this morning, as I was laying in bed, I randomly opened the Bible to Acts 10. When I got to verse 9 about Peter’s vision of the clean and unclean…verse 19- 22 stuck out at me:

“While Peter was still thinking about the vision, the Spirit said to him, ‘Simon, three men are looking for you. So get up and go downstairs. Do not hesitate to go with them, for I have sent them. Peer went down and said to the men, ‘I’m the one you are looking for. Why have you come?’ The men replied, ‘We have come from Cornelius the centurion. He is a righteous and God-fearing man, who is respected by all the Jewish people. A holy angel told him to have you come to his house so that he could hear what you have to say.'”

Divine Appointments. I couldn’t stop thinking about it as I read this, and I sat in my bed and prayed, it keep coming back to me. While I was praying, I was reminded of all the times God brought specific people in my life for specific reasons. People I had no idea existed. People who God put in my life to have an impact on me.

And you know, God doesn’t just put people in your life for Spiritual reasons only. He cares about every aspect of your every day moments. He cares about your family, your school life, your business. The business part is something that has meant a lot to me lately. God cares about my business. Kinda blows me away. I mean, remember this meeting? Yup, God cares. He knew I needed to have that influence in my life. He made another divine appointment meeting for me last week. God is good. So thankful to Him for these times!

You think God doesn’t care about your life? Wait a second… listen to Acts 10:34,

“Then Peter began to speak; ‘I now realize how true it is that God does not show favoritism but accepts men from every nation who fear him and do what is right.'”

WHOA. Do you fear God and attempt to do what is right in His eyes? Then he loves you. Just as much as He loves everyone else. There is nothing you can do to make God love you more than the rest of His kids. He loves you the same. With all your mess ups, failures, inconsistencies…He loves you. You don’t have to think like everyone else, look like everyone else, act like everyone else…you just have to FEAR HIM and DO WHAT’S RIGHT.

Amazing.

Friends….don’t be so busy with life that you miss the divine appointments that God brings your way. When you see them start to happen in your world it will boost your faith, make you smile and encourage you to share Christ’s love with others. I know it has for me.

Thank you Lord for the divine appointments you have brought into my life over the last couple months. Especially the ones that you have brought my way with Evy’s Tree in mind. THANK YOU. You know I needed them. I love you. Thank you for loving me, NO MATTER WHAT. It’s a wonderful feeling. May I always share your love with those around me. 

xoxo

One thought on “Divine Appointments and Favoritism

Leave a Reply

