Give People What They Need The Most

Hi Guys, two blog posts in two days. Wow. After I posted this post, I should get some sort of medal or something for being here. ha. Oh boy.

This one is going to be real quick as it’s almost time for church, but this morning something has been running through my mind and I needed to get it out really quickly….

Relating to people is really hard.

That might sound strange to you…but I’m pretty certain this is true, at least in my life. People hurt each other so easily, without even realizing it. This past week I have thought over and over about someone I hurt…and I had no idea I did. As I look back now, I realize how selfish I was and how stupid I treated that person, but at the time, I really was clueless.

Ignorance…I guess thats what makes relationships hard.

Anyway, a couple days ago I read this devotional and it really affected me. Grace. Whoa. That can be a really scary word. In such a judgmental world {both in the church and outside the church}, grace is often overlooked. Sure we preach it. Sure we talk about it. But it’s much harder to put into practice, isn’t it?

This week I needed to give several people in my life grace. And you know what? I can’t say I was super excited to do it. It’s much easier to be angry and frustrated than to swallow your feelings and extend a little grace, isn’t it?

But it’s crucial.

Here’s the thing guys. I want God to grant me grace. Because when I think back to all those people I unknowingly hurt in the past {or maybe knowingly at times}, my heart hurts. Really, really hurts. And it cries out to my Savior asking Him to cleanse me, forgive me…make me new.

So why can’t we allow those around us the same grace?

I’m praying today and the rest of my days that I can give the grace people need. Not be so quick to judge. Or to tear someone apart. Or to complain about someone. But extend grace instead.

God help me.

Someday…wait, RIGHT NOW…I need grace. So if I need it, I must give it.

“Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” Luke 6:38

Love you friends. Happy Sunday! xoxo

One thought on “Give People What They Need The Most

  1. Thanks for sharing, Amy. I have been thinking along these same lines – about grace and forgiveness. Just recently read Phillip Yancey’s book, “What’s So Amazing About Grace.” It made me stop and examine this area of my life!

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

